A&P Snapshot vs. Photograph?

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by friednanners, Sep 5, 2007.

1. friednanners

friednanners Sliver Member

I'm a beginner and have signed up for a photography class and this is one of our first assignments.

What's the difference between a snapshot, and a photograph?

What type of examples could I show my teacher?

Thanks for any help, I'm really looking to get into photography a lot more..

2. Jonny Chimpo

Jonny Chimpo OT Supporter

Are you serious?

Could that assignment be ANY more subjective and doomed to failure?

3. UnNakedChef

UnNakedChef 2jz Sackrider Holder

You have to employ a strobist or HDR technique in order for it to be considered a REAL photograph. Anything else is just a snapshot.

4. F1

F1 Active Member

First slap your teacher. Then I would say that a snapshot would be a family in front of some tourist attraction, just a quick unplanned shot.

A photograph would be a picture that is planned and composed with all the elements of photography (lighting, exposure, etc) to near perfection.

I guess that's how I would approach it.

5. Jonny Chimpo

And yet, that would be wrong. Proof:

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

These are some examples that jump to mind that are famous. There are also countless examples where the photograph is not famous, and it was completely unplanned, yet it is an utterly fantastic image.

What makes a photograph more than a snapshot is something far more intangible than composition and technical execution. I've heard about people trying to re-create Ansel Adams work by going to great lengths to duplicate his methods. Every detail is planned, down to going to the exact location on during the same time of year with the same camera, the same film and same processing, only to come away with images that are nowhere near as compelling as Adams work.

6. F1

F1 Active Member