GUN Smith and Wesson Customer Support

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by CKMustangCobra, Dec 13, 2007.

1. CKMustangCobra

CKMustangCobra New Member

I carry a S&W 640 daily, even on the job. I am a Marine Electrician/Mechanic. Along with my tools and equipment my gun gets exposed to salt breeze and such from working on the water. Most of my tools are quality and don't rust up. Even if they get dropped in the water and recovered, wipe them off and they are good to go. I carry @ 1 'o' clock IWB and sometimes sweat gets all over the gun as well as salt water spray and such.

About 3 months ago I started to notice some pitting in the finish. I cleaned the gun really well and applied Barricade to help prevent the rust. I also rub Hoppes #9 on my guns for protection. I am off work today so I decided to clean my 640 again. WAY more rust this strip down.

[​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

The finish is obviously gone in some spots and bare steel is getting exposed. I started searching the net for a good company to refinish the gun and possibly have it magnaported and such. Came across Gemini Customs, stuff looks really awesome (except the grips). I also thought it would be a good idea to call S&W to see if the warranty would cover it.

The following is as accurate as I can recreate...

Ringing...

Paul: "Thank you for calling Smith and Wesson Customer Support and Warrant Center, my name is Paul, how I can help you?"

Me: "Hi, my name is Chris and I have a S&W 640...

Paul interupts: "That is a mighty fine firearm, own one myself!"

Me: "... awesome. I love mine, except I've been starting to notice a problem with the finish..."

Paul: "Let me get the serial number from you, please..."

Me: "--serial number--"

Paul: "Well, that firearm is less than 3 years old, what's going on with the finish?"

Me: "I've noticed it starting to rust around the logo, trigger guard and under the grips..."