Since 10.4.10, restart gives annoying firmware message

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by ryckmonster, Jul 3, 2007.

  1. ryckmonster

    ryckmonster New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    0
    Everytime I restart, I now see this.


    [​IMG]


    :wtf:
     
  2. Jacen2141

    Jacen2141 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SC
    it was doing that for me too...I think I control-clicked the icon while it was in the dock and went to preferences and told it not to check at start up...try that and see if it works. Either way, I was able to get it to stop checking at every boot.
     
  3. CarRamRod

    CarRamRod The schnozzberries taste like schnozzberries.

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Delete it once the update is done. It's in Utilities.
     
  4. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    I have the same issue now.. going to utilities.
     
  5. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    yeah, just move it out of utilities, also check your startup items in system prefs to make sure it isn't trying to launch the update on login.
     
  6. Dysfnctnl85

    Dysfnctnl85 IT/Apple/Rotary/(D)SLR Crew

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Messages:
    3,064
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Georgia
    I had the same problem. Thanks for the fix guys -- I wasn't sure if it was "okay" to do that or not.
     
  7. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    it can be nice to keep them around just for bookkeeping purposes, but firmware upgrades don't revert if you reinstall the system so there's almost never any need to have the file handy.
     

Share This Page