Simple network setup help

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Marcos, Jan 29, 2004.

  1. Marcos

    Marcos OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    38,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Great Britain
    Its so simple but i manage to fuck it up everytime.

    Help me setup a simple 2 comp network. Just a single Cat5 crossover cable running between 2 NICs. I just want flawless file and internet connection sharing.

    When ive tried this in the past it often resulted in only one comp being able to access the other :sad2:

    Thanks, quick answers appreciated.


    PS: A step-by-step guide will be nice :bigthumb:
     
  2. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    You'll need to post your OS's of your two computers
     
  3. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    What kind of internet access are you using?
    Dial-up or cable/dsl?

    If you're on cable/dsl, you can save yoursel a lot of heacaches by just getting a simple router with a builtin switch to connect each computer to. You can still share files between the 2 computers and each can access the internet without need of one of them being up 24/7.

    If you're on dial-up, then you'll have to use Windows ICS in which case one of the FAQs on this site maybe can help walk you though it http://www.duxcw.com/faq/ics/
    also talks about how to use ICS with broadband, but I think it's a waste of time to use it for broadband
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    38,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Great Britain

    Sorry, i always forget that part.

    Both PCs run Win XP Pro


    One of the PCs has the modem connected
     
  5. Marcos

    Marcos OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    38,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Great Britain
    I have to use this temporary crappy USB ADSL modem for now, it came with connection and it does the job.

    I will get a router later.
     
  6. Marcos

    Marcos OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    38,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Great Britain
    Ok, i used the manual IP method and it works fine now

    Thanks anyway
     
  7. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    USB dsl modem? That sucks
    It doesn't have an ethernet connection at all?

    USB modems are too damn slow and too damn unreliable.
    I feel sorry for anyone forced to use a USB connection with any modem and more so on boardband.
     
  8. Marcos

    Marcos OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    38,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Great Britain
    I think i mentioned it before but i'll mention it again.

    UK's standard ADSL (broadband) service is not fast enough to take advantage of the USB's full speed. Therefor it is not a bottle-neck.

    But yes, they do suck and i would much prefer an ethernet one, its on the shopping list.
     
  9. randomjoker

    randomjoker Guest

    I got one of those for free, there not that bad; but yes I prefer a good ole' 100mbit ethernet card. :thumbsup:
     
  10. Marcos

    Marcos OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    38,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Great Britain
    Yeah, I think connections here work different
     

Share This Page