Simple HTML Help

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Jay487, Jul 19, 2007.

  1. Jay487

    Jay487 What's Life If You Ain't Enjoyin' It?

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    4,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    Doing a simple informative site for someone, used a line of code for a frame called iframe

    like this:

    Here's the site... www.s-h-o-t-s.com


    I'm trying to get a scroll bar in the frame so that I can add an unlimited amount of information. I changed scrolling from "no" to "yes" in the iframe line. If you click the mousewheel down you CAN scroll down in the frame, but I'm trying to figure out how to add a scroll bar.

    Any suggestions appreciated :hs:

    thanks in advance
     
  2. JaJae

    JaJae New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    looks like you got it
     
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    your website pisses me off. fix it.

    The borders on the left and right need to stretch/repeat to fit the content -- don't make your content fit within a static frame.

    BAD e-mojo
     
  4. Jay487

    Jay487 What's Life If You Ain't Enjoyin' It?

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    4,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    I still don't see a scroll bar within the frame :dunno:
     
  5. JaJae

    JaJae New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    What browser are you using?
     
  6. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    Use a <div> with scrolling overflow, for better compatibility
     
  7. Jay487

    Jay487 What's Life If You Ain't Enjoyin' It?

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    4,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    firefox

    edit: I see it in IE ... how come firefox doesnt show it? :dunno:
     
  8. JaJae

    JaJae New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    What version are you using? It's showing up on mine.
     
  9. Jay487

    Jay487 What's Life If You Ain't Enjoyin' It?

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    4,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.1.5) Gecko/20070713 Firefox/2.0.0.5
     
  10. Jay487

    Jay487 What's Life If You Ain't Enjoyin' It?

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    4,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    what version are you using?
     
  11. JaJae

    JaJae New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same as you and it works just fine on Firefox and Internet Exploder.
     
  12. MrBrotato

    MrBrotato New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    5,558
    Likes Received:
    0
    Works for me. FF 2.0.0.5.

    I agree with jolly, there should not be 2 vertical scroll bars, it is nuts. I scroll your content and then the page scrolls too? For some reason a lot of websites do this but it is not very user friendly making the user juggle two scroll bars. If at least the layout didn't stretch the main browser window and just the iframe scrolled it would be better, but I'd rather scroll my main window and have the content just stretch the page way down.
     
  13. Jay487

    Jay487 What's Life If You Ain't Enjoyin' It?

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    4,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    If I knew how to do that, I would :o This is something I did on the side on my own :dunno:
     

Share This Page