silly questions time

Discussion in 'Fitness & Nutrition' started by eXyle, Aug 1, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. eXyle

eXyle ׂ

working within ideal parameters, on a normal (6 months each or 3 months each???) bulking/cutting cycle, how long would it take to add 25 lbs of muscle post-cut? My first gains were ~15 lbs after 20 weeks (2 HST cycles), but I'm assuming the majority of those gains were noob gains. I know there are a lot of variables that I need to consider, but just wanted a best case scenario (no anabolics).

Next, how do I work out my hamstrings. I started off with hamstring curls on a machine, but stopped. I've been doing straight-back straight-leg deadlifts for a couple of months now.

http://www.exrx.net/WeightExercises/Hamstrings/BBStrBackStrLegDeadlift.html

The thing is, it feels like only my semitendinosus is growing, while the long head remains a tiny little muscle fuck.

If I recall correctly, although deadlifts are a compound exercise, they are supposed to "target" the hamstrings. However, the exrx site says the hamstrings are just stabilizers

http://www.exrx.net/WeightExercises/GluteusMaximus/BBDeadlift.html

I guess the question is, what exercise should I do to work out my hamstrings correctly/evenly?

Those are the only questions for now, I'm sure I'll think of more stupid shit to ask later on.

Thanks.

2. MaineSucks

MaineSucks OT Supporter

glute ham raises, pullthroughs, SLDLs, RDLs, 45* Back Raises performed properly

3. Marijuanair

Marijuanair Remember to have your pet spayed or neutered! OT Supporter

I bulk or cut for about 8-10 weeks at a time, then maintain for about 4 weeks in between each. this is how I was taught, it works for me I suppose but I have no rational why it is good/better to do it my way. I was told though that you stay leaner when you bulk more often for a smaller amount of time, which my or maynot be true.

4. PreemO

PreemO OT Supporter