A&P Sigma 30mm f/1.4 vs Canon 35mm f/2

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by Smeghead, Mar 1, 2010.

?

Which one would you get/is better?

  1. Sigma 30mm f/1.4

    18 vote(s)
    69.2%
  2. Canon 35mm f/2

    5 vote(s)
    19.2%
  3. Undecided

    3 vote(s)
    11.5%
  1. Smeghead

    Smeghead New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Messages:
    7,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Klingonlandia
    Which one should I buy (assuming that the focusing is correct on the Sigma)?

    The fact that the canon is EF mount, so I can use it on full frame, and sigma has EF-s mount, doesn't matter to me as I'm not planning on going fullframe anytime soon.

    I have a 450D/XSi (crop body).

    Appreciate any feedback, experiences, thoughts, etc.

    Cheers!
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2010
  2. CornUponCob

    CornUponCob New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2001
    Messages:
    15,319
    Likes Received:
    0
    A correctly focusing sigma for a crop.

    Canon otherwise.
     
  3. e.pie

    e.pie Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    91,427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KFLY
    canon is cheaper and you won't have to worry about the focusing issues

    not as sharp wide open though :o
     
  4. Smeghead

    Smeghead New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Messages:
    7,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Klingonlandia
    I know that Sigma is sharper wide open, but after a few stops Canon catch up and they're equal. However, which one of them perform best @ a small apperture, like f/8.0?
     
  5. ok_computer

    ok_computer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    15,615
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB, Canada
    I've seen about 6-7 of the Sigma 30's in my life, I have one myself.

    I've never met one single person who was satisfied with the focus accuracy.
     
  6. Smeghead

    Smeghead New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Messages:
    7,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Klingonlandia
    Fuck, did they all have a shitty copy, or the focus is just bad, even on the "good" copies?
     
  7. Smeghead

    Smeghead New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Messages:
    7,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Klingonlandia
    So lets, say I want to take fast action pictures, the Canon would be a better choice because it doesn't have any focus issues, although the Sigma is suppose to be faster?
     
  8. ok_computer

    ok_computer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    15,615
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB, Canada
    The Sigma has a better system technically, but you can't count on it. The QC is just awful on that lens.. it's hard to ignore the fact that I know 6-7 of them, and not one is good enough.
     
  9. ok_computer

    ok_computer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    15,615
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB, Canada
    People calling lenses "copies" is one of my biggest pet peeves :hsd:
     
  10. Smeghead

    Smeghead New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Messages:
    7,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Klingonlandia
    QC?
     
  11. pantheR

    pantheR New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Messages:
    2,684
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    I don't remember what was said.. but does the 50mm 1.4 have focusing issues as well?
     
  12. ok_computer

    ok_computer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    15,615
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB, Canada
    quality control
     
  13. ok_computer

    ok_computer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    15,615
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB, Canada
    the sigma 50 1.4 is by FAR the best 50 out there, shit's fuckin awesome.
     
  14. Cesium

    Cesium OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    11,363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    Wirelessly posted via wap.offtopic.com (Opera/9.80 (J2ME/MIDP; Opera Mini/4.2.13918/922; U; en) Presto/2.4.15)

    I love my sigma 30. Had slight front focus on the xsi but nails focus every time on my 1d. Sharp at pretty much any aperture. Since you were asking about f8, i used it almost exclusively at that aperture on vacation and it worked very well.

    The canon 35 f2 with its noisy af and 5 blade aperture never appealed to me. Used to be a good deal when it cost about 250 new but at 300 now it just doesn't seem worth it for such an old lens design.
     
  15. essejgnad

    essejgnad poopty pangts

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    Find a used 30 from someone on FM that will send you test shots taken with the lens.

    I've owned a really good copy and it was on par with the 35L in terms of sharpness, but of course, focusing speed, color rendering, and bokeh went to the 35L
     
  16. Smeghead

    Smeghead New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Messages:
    7,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Klingonlandia
    I thought Sigma 30 wasn't mountable fullframes? :S
     
  17. Cesium

    Cesium OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    11,363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    Wirelessly posted via wap.offtopic.com (Opera/9.80 (J2ME/MIDP; Opera Mini/4.2.13918/922; U; en) Presto/2.4.15)

    1d is not full frame. The sigma works on it just fine up to f/4 or so.
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2010
  18. Smeghead

    Smeghead New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Messages:
    7,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Klingonlandia
    Oh I thought the whole 1D series was fullframe, my bad.

    It feels so shitty having to worry whether I got a good copy or not, and like ok_computer said:

    If you're not satisfried with the focus accuracy it's gonna take away a lot of joy of shooting with it, you will end up not not shooting with it at all.
     
  19. Smeghead

    Smeghead New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Messages:
    7,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Klingonlandia
    I just realized..

    That I can get both the 35 f/2 AND the 50 f/1.8 for about the same price as the Sigma 30 :o
     
  20. tun

    tun Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    54,960
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York City
    canon 28 1.8
     
  21. Smeghead

    Smeghead New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Messages:
    7,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Klingonlandia
    Too expensive
     
  22. Cesium

    Cesium OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    11,363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    Wirelessly posted via wap.offtopic.com (Opera/9.80 (J2ME/MIDP; Opera Mini/4.2.13918/922; U; en) Presto/2.4.15)

    Sigma is really good about recalibrating their lenses. If you are worried about focus problems, just buy it and send it in for calibration right away.
     
  23. tun

    tun Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    54,960
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York City
    you can find it for around the same price as the sigma 30 1.4 :dunno:
     
  24. Smeghead

    Smeghead New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Messages:
    7,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Klingonlandia
    I just send it back to the retailer and ask them to send it to Sigma for calibration and they will handle it?

    I live in Sweden, I don't even know if Sigma exist over here :hs:
     
  25. ok_computer

    ok_computer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    15,615
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB, Canada
    I've sent mine back twice, once it came back and didn't auto-focus at ALL, and then I sent back again, and it's just "ok" again.

    When it hits, it's fucking unreal awesome, but it rarely sticks perfect focus.
     

Share This Page