Shrinking photos

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by rjacobs, Dec 11, 2007.

  1. rjacobs

    rjacobs New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    My mom and sister want these lockets with photos of my niece in them for xmas. So I got the lockets and I got the pictures, but I have no clue how to shrink them down. I have a Mac with the basic editing software. I think I am going to take them to kinkos(or somewhere like that) to get them printed, should I just take them to kinkos and get them to shrink them down as well? This was supposed to be an inexpensive xmas gift, but if I gotta go buy a 200 dollar piece of software, they are gonna be getting empty lockets and can figure out how to put them in themselves.
     
  2. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    are you running tiger or leopard?
    if leopard you can do this using preview, if not just download some free image resizing tool from www.macupdate.com
     
  3. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
  4. rjacobs

    rjacobs New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ive just got tiger, not gonna jump to leopard for a few more months. Gonna download that program and try it out.
     
  5. rjacobs

    rjacobs New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Worked like a charm, now I just have to go get them printed out on a good color printer
     
  6. Pineapple Devil

    Pineapple Devil beat it!

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    53,752
    Likes Received:
    8
  7. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    not really a tool for beginners :ugh:

    but yes, it's not bad at all if you know what automator is
     
  8. dbman96

    dbman96 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2000
    Messages:
    49,996
    Likes Received:
    6
    Automator action FTW, but yeah, a little more difficult to set up. I hate to say it but the XP resize powertoy was one of the best ways to handle this stuff.
     
  9. Pineapple Devil

    Pineapple Devil beat it!

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    53,752
    Likes Received:
    8
    for beginners? all you do is drag the action to the box with the picture then change the size
     
  10. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    if someone is having trouble figuring out how to resize pics by themselves, i highly doubt they will be able to figure out automator.

    i agree, its very simple, but you have to have some sort of idea what your doing or else it just looks like a really complex program....
     
  11. colosodian

    colosodian Next Gen

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SF Bay
    Its this easy, just change 700 to whatever size you want.[​IMG]
     
  12. rjacobs

    rjacobs New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im just new to Mac's, but I am not computer illiterate, just been using PC's for the past 15 years or so. The last apple I had had the suffix IIe after it and had a 5.25" floppy drive, color monitor and "gasp" a 2400 baud modem. We were high tech. The autoresize program worked out, thanks for the help guys.
     

Share This Page