Showcase your tech shit **PICS**

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by zero xeal, Feb 7, 2007.

  1. zero xeal

    zero xeal Guest

  2. mw818

    mw818 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    893
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    jesus, sick rack
     
  3. zero xeal

    zero xeal Guest


    ty :o there are a few IBM servers on it know, snagged some X330's
     
  4. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Pics like that demand an explanation. What the hell are you doing with all that equipment? :eek2:
     
  5. piratepenguin

    piratepenguin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ireland
    and a projector, in a bedroom :|
     
  6. zero xeal

    zero xeal Guest

    Most of the pc's are being used as servers, running linux/solaris/bsd, VPN, gentoo rsync, SMB, kerberos, dns, etc (asterisks and mythtv soon :o). 2 of them are firewalls. I do consulting, helpdesk day job, and security research.

    Projector is in the bedroom for lack of a better place to put it seeing as im young and still living with my parents.
     
  7. Supergeek

    Supergeek New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    This is my old setup back in North Carolina.

    [​IMG]

    Most of it is in storage now until we get a house (small apartment). I've gotten a new PC since then.

    I've traded the Zaurus for a Nokia 770. The blue glowy PC came with me, but I had to buy a new 20" ViewSonic for my new PC, and another cheap 19" Sceptre for the blue glowy PC.

    The IBM laptop, Crackberry, and HP PC I shipped back to my ex-employer; I was telecommuting.

    This doesn't include my wife's PC's and laptop.

    My working PC's include:
    Intel Core 2 Duo e6600 (not pictured)
    AMD 3500+ (blue glowy)
    Intel P4 3GHz laptop from ProStar
    AMD 1.4GHz Athlon
    Another PC I forget the specs. Might be an AMD 2800 or something. Like I said, in storage.

    One linux box, the rest are Windows XP for gaming. I multi-box EverQuest, among other things.

    My wife has a new e6600 PC almost the twin of mine, and a PC I forget the specs of, but probably AMD 3500ish.
     
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2007
  8. NavS

    NavS its me!

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Messages:
    32,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SumwhereKanaduh PSN/XBL: NavS2
    All I has is a laptop..... with a wireless mouse....
     
  9. mw818

    mw818 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    893
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles

    ever run multiple EQ's with one wireless keyboard? its a hilarious sight to see in game
     
  10. Supergeek

    Supergeek New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    No, but I can imagine.

    I use Synergy (link) to run multiple machines from one keyboard and mouse. It works all right, except that when you zone in EQ on your primary PC (at least on mine) Synergy stops working until you finish zoning. So, if your character on your Synergy server dies and you have characters on other PC's, you won't be able to switch over to them with Synergy. The rest of your crew is going to be sitting there picking their nose until he finishes zoning... which means they usually die too.
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2007
  11. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Wait...what?
     
  12. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Here's my awesome setup taken with my cell phone:


    [​IMG]
     
  13. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
  14. samm

    samm Next in Line

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2000
    Messages:
    2,630
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
  15. Beason

    Beason They call me "The Stig"

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Messages:
    6,601
    Likes Received:
    0
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    not pictured Laptop - core due 2.16GHz w/ 2gb of ram
     
  16. DaIceMan

    DaIceMan Jack Bauer > *.*

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    3,475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Springfield-ish, Missouri
    I'll def get pics up soon. My entire office space is being redone over the next week... including electrical work (to beef up the room), addition to my workbench/desk to house my new computer, total overhaul of the network in this room. And that's not even bringing to light the work in the server cabinet.
     
  17. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    You need to add electrical capacity to your office? Jesus dude, I think it's time to invest in some mobile CPUs and low-power LCD screens.
     
  18. zero xeal

    zero xeal Guest

  19. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    this pic cracks me up :rofl:

    [​IMG]































    only cuz i used to have a similar setup while trying to learn linux back in the day on a 486 :o
     
  20. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
  21. Supergeek

    Supergeek New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    I had that exact same desk back in Michigan before I moved to NC. That desk is HEAVY. I believe the invoice said 300lbs? Maybe just 200lbs. I put it together in my computer room, and I think it would have had to be taken apart to fit through the door.
     
  22. zero xeal

    zero xeal Guest


    hehe its useful for doing terminal based work (coding etc) with 0 distractions while being comfy, or yapping on irc from bed.
     
  23. piratepenguin

    piratepenguin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ireland
    You sleep with your computer eh?
     
  24. Beason

    Beason They call me "The Stig"

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Messages:
    6,601
    Likes Received:
    0
    shipping is a bitch. Come is two boxes by freight. The guy that brought it up carried it to my front door after wheeling it up the driveway, not an easy task. That man was broly. I had to up pack the boxes and take it piece by piece to my room [​IMG]
     
  25. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Whenever I sit indian-style on my bed for more than a couple of minutes, my back starts to hurt like hell. Chairs and desks it is for me.

    Now, what would be nice is if I could find a carbon-fiber desk, so it would be strong AND light...
     

Share This Page