Shoulders

Discussion in 'Fitness & Nutrition' started by Rooster Cogburn, Feb 22, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Is it overkill to do front raises, laterals and military press all in the same workout? I do an upper/lower split right now.

I guess I should add that I'm a beginner and definitely not trying to put the finishing touches on my physique or anything, just build a solid base. Should I just stick with military press right now maybe?

2. retorq

retorq What up bitch??

When I first started I did just military presses on my upper body days ...

3. Boston George

Boston George New Member

id say your fine then again im about to make a thread about over training.

Try doing fronts and sides. get like 10lb dbs and raise them straight out fron your sides and then down and then raise them in front of you... Killer exercise

4. michael

michael FLORIDA > *

dont bother with the front raises. chances are you cheat enough on your other exercises or do enough benching that they get hit plenty.

lateral raises
    db/bb presses
    arnolds
    chest supported rear delt flyes

5. Ceaze

Ceaze https://hearthis.at/DoYouEvenUplift Moderator

Often when the deltoid muscle becomes dominant as the person performs shoulder abduction, the humeral head glides superiorly because the downward pull of the rotator cuff muscles is insufficient and cannot counterbalance the upward pull of the deltoid. As the humerus continues to abduct, the compression forces generated by the deltoid muscle maintain the humerus in this position. If the same person flexes rather than abducts the humerus, the movement impairment is not evident. This can be explained by the reduced participation of the deltoid muscle. During flexion, the primary activity is in the anterior portion, which is just one third of the muscle, as compared with activity of the entire deltoid muscle during abduction.