SRS Should i teach abroad after graduation?

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by 17%, Apr 4, 2008.

1. 17%

17% New Member

i'm at a loss as to what to do when i complete college. my peer adviser told me she was goign to teach abroad when she was finished.

It seems like a good idea, but i won't be getting paid too much and the program i looked into, i actually have to pay for a contract... it'd be equal to a four months salary over there.

anybody who has taught abroad want to give me any input?

(just to mention, i'm new to over seas teaching- i would normally think i would not have to pay for the contract... maybe i might have just read it wrong)

2. iwishyouwerebeer

iwishyouwerebeer you shut your cunt Moderator

My friend has done it for 2 years over in Asia. Best years of his life he says.

3. vodkacollins

vodkacollins New Member

i have known a few people who have done this and loved it. one guy stayed in europe teaching for 5 years he was so happy with it.

i dont know any details about it, but they said it was the experience of a lifetime. just for that, i would go for it if i was you

where are you looking at going?

4. 17%

17% New Member

hey, irvine. i go to uci :)

i'm looking into going to asia, anywhere besides japan.

5. 17%

17% New Member

do you know how he got into the program?

there is an orientation for the study abroad program at my school, the lady said there should be info about the teaching abroad program too...

6. vodkacollins

vodkacollins New Member

i graduated from there 4 years ago....damn that makes me feel old :hs:

my future mother in law actually works in the extension office at uci and was debating doing the teaching abroad as well. she seemed to get a ton of info from uci, but im not sure where exactly, and she was looking at costa rica.

do you speak any other language already? i think they wanted her to take a class before she went to help with the language

7. 17%

17% New Member