should i stop downloading?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by WannaZO6, Jun 4, 2004.

  1. WannaZO6

    WannaZO6 There are 10 types of people in the world, the one

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Sygate Personal Firewall Picked this up. They are trying to port scan me and I did a backtrace and whois. The bold part is what I'm worried about.


    OrgName: Comcast Cable Communications Holdings, Inc
    OrgID: CCCH-3
    Address: 1800 Bishops Gate Blvd
    City: Mt Laurel
    StateProv: NJ
    PostalCode: 08054
    Country: US

    NetRange: 24.30.224.0 - 24.30.255.255
    CIDR: 24.30.224.0/19
    NetName: CCCH3-18
    NetHandle: NET-24-30-224-0-1
    Parent: NET-24-0-0-0-0
    NetType: Direct Allocation
    NameServer: NS4.ATTBB.NET
    NameServer: NS5.ATTBB.NET
    NameServer: NS6.ATTBB.NET
    Comment:
    RegDate:
    Updated: 2003-08-19

    OrgAbuseHandle: NAPO-ARIN
    OrgAbuseName: Network Abuse and Policy Observance
    OrgAbusePhone: +1-856-317-7272
    OrgAbuseEmail: [email protected]

    OrgTechHandle: IC161-ARIN
    OrgTechName: Comcast Cable Communications Inc
    OrgTechPhone: +1-856-317-7200
    OrgTechEmail: [email protected]

    # ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2004-06-02 19:15
    # Enter ? for additional hints on searching ARIN's WHOIS database.
     
  2. Stev

    Stev Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    11,409
    Likes Received:
    0
    are u on comcast?

    i would say they are prolly juss doing that, observing and nothing else.
     
  3. WannaZO6

    WannaZO6 There are 10 types of people in the world, the one

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    yeah I have comcast, I'm not going to stop downloading I just need to install this firewall on my other machines and recommend it to my friends.
     
  4. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Standard practice to scan their network. Making sure you're no setting up webservers etc...
     
  5. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    yup, not too much to worry about. Pretty much all ISP's will do it, or have a 3rd party do it for them.
     
  6. Stev

    Stev Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    11,409
    Likes Received:
    0
    i run webservers :eek3:

    HTTP/FTP/SMTP/DNS :p
     
  7. Achance007

    Achance007 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2000
    Messages:
    16,128
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    New Castle, DE
    I've been there before to return my old cable box and modem when I moved.
     
  8. Astro

    Astro Code Monkey

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2000
    Messages:
    2,047
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    Guys, this is the "who do I send network abuse to" portion of the domain in question. Do a who is on some other companies like microsoft.com and you'll see. Also look at the IP block these guys have. These companies don't need to own that many IPs to do network enforcement.
     

Share This Page