Should I learn C++ or C#?...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Prototype, Dec 31, 2009.

1. Prototype

Prototype New Member

I have some bg experience with programming (I took VB and Java in HS), but I want to learn a new more powerful language. So I decided Cpp or C#. I did start with Cpp, but I'm worried it will get outdated soon. So which should I learn?

2. Coottie

Coottie BOOMER......SOONER OT Supporter

C++ isn't going anywhere. Learn which ever one is a better fit for your goals.

3. CodeX

CodeX Guest

Assembly. It will make you a better programmer regardless of which high level language you eventually use to understand how that high level code translates into processor instructions.

You have to understand that whatever language you choose you are ultimately creating machine code, represented by assembly language instructions for your specific target platform. When you write in C or Java or VB and hit "compile" the compiler takes your high level, almost pseudo, code and turns it into assembly instructions. Understanding your target platforms (in most cases intel x86) instruction set and how those instructions work and how your compiler turns your high level code into those instructions WILL make you a better programmer.

4. CompiledMonkey

CompiledMonkey New Member

Depends on what your goals are and where you are in your career. If you want to work in 80% of development jobs, traditional business environments, C# will serve you better. If you're more interested in things that require low level access, C++ is your better option. If you're in school, working towards school, and want a CS degree, C++ is your better option. Truly, it depends on a few factors.

5. ge0

ge0 New Member

c++ then learn JAVA

6. Prototype

Prototype New Member

So whats the "best" C# compiler? Also where can I get JBuilder for Java.

I figured I miles well stick with something I already learned and get deeper into it while learning a new language.

7. CodeX

CodeX Guest