Should I do a full install of tiger...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Pineapple Devil, May 30, 2005.

  1. Pineapple Devil

    Pineapple Devil beat it!

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    53,754
    Likes Received:
    8
    I got the upgrad dvd last month and now apple sent me the full install. Should I format the hd and just do a full install? Is there any difference?
     
  2. urban ape

    urban ape take that take that take that

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    9,220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    League City, Texas
    i did, just for peace of mind. it feels good to know everything is clean and in the right place.
     
  3. adelacruz

    adelacruz New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,991
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Saint Petersburg, Florida.
    yea thats the only reason i see you just feel better knowing it was 100% cleans install.
     
  4. Pineapple Devil

    Pineapple Devil beat it!

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    53,754
    Likes Received:
    8
    ok here are a couple questions

    1. can i just copy my applications folder to a networked windows machine then drag them back when the install is done? same thing for my documents folders

    2. do i just put the install dvd in and it will wipe the hd clean then install?
     
  5. urban ape

    urban ape take that take that take that

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    9,220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    League City, Texas
    i dont think the applications will function properly afterwards as they need certain system files to operate properly. i tried that with iphoto5 and got denied. so thats just my experience with it. :o


    as for a clean install of the OS, just pop the dvd in, and double click the installer. it will prompt you to restart, but when it asks you to upgrade, click "options..." and hit "erase and install"

    hope that helps
     
  6. Pineapple Devil

    Pineapple Devil beat it!

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    53,754
    Likes Received:
    8
    is there a way to keep all the applications that i have already installed?
     
  7. urban ape

    urban ape take that take that take that

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    9,220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    League City, Texas

    i suppose you could do an archive and install, but i'm not sure exactly what that entails.

    good luck
     
  8. Pineapple Devil

    Pineapple Devil beat it!

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    53,754
    Likes Received:
    8
    i'm going to try and carbon copy clone my hd to my 20gb iPod first
     
  9. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    part of getting a "clean" install is to re-install the apps.
     

Share This Page