Should I buy an iMac today at Best Buy?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by MikeTheVike1, Aug 8, 2009.

1. MikeTheVike1

MikeTheVike1 OT Supporter

I've been looking to buy an iMac for a while. Its a no state sales tax weekend. Plus I have $200 in gift cards there. I could get a 24" 2.93ghz for $1599 interest free for 18 months. Any better deals than that?

2. MikeTheVike1

Really!? Do I have to prove I'm a student? I have my old college id, haha

3. MikeTheVike1

And will I be able to take it to an Apple store if I'm having problems with it if I buy it from Best Buy? And I suppose I can buy Apple Care?

4. MikeTheVike1

My id is old and worn, I'll bring it just in case. It doesn't have any dates on it i don't think. I'm going to head to the store and see what happens. I might get one!

5. Figori

Figori Taking BRC to the EXTREME. OT Supporter

Dooooooo Eeeeeeeet.

6. MikeTheVike1

ARRAGgsadjflasdgkjh, so I go to best Buy and I ask the sales guy if they had any 2.93ghz in stock. He goes searching and finds one, but also says he found an older open-box 2.8ghz iMac. The open box price is $1200, after I use my gift cards it would be $1000. Sounds like a great deal, but I was wondering about the warranty and whether I could buy Apple Care for it. I called two Apple stores and asked if I could buy Apple Care on an open box iMac and they said "Uhhhh, Yea!" But I was still leery of buying an Open Box computer. I racked my brain trying to decide if the open box was worth the risk for $600 savings. I ended up leaving empty handed, I have tomorrow to decide if I want to buy one and get the tax free savings. sigh

7. manchild

manchild OT Supporter

I am 99.99999% positive you'll be able to buy Apple Care for open box products. Apple sells refurbished products and you can buy Apple Care for those :dunno:

8. Jacen2141

Jacen2141 New Member