SRS Should I attempt to have a relationshp with my Dad?

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Socrates, Apr 15, 2008.

1. Socrates

Socrates New Member

Hey everybody :sadwavey:.

I'll try to give you guys a quick recap of my whole life.

My Mom and Dad were never married, and barely a couple. However, me, 21, and my brother, 23, were born. I think the most we ever saw my Dad was maybe 9 or 10 times when we went to his house to go hunting or to just spend the week with him. Up until about 4 years ago, he was raising 3 other boys with his wife.

My brother and me went to see him for the first time in over 6 years about 4 months ago. We simply ate lunch with him, talked for a little while, and that was it. Not much contact since.

I've always felt I have more in common with my dad than my mom. I've always really looked up to him and his accomplishments, especially his Ph.D. I am in my third year of college, majoring in English Education, and he is the superintendent of a school district. I'm sure it's obvious how I would look up to him.

I don't know really. I know I'll be fine with or without him. Sure I have my anger and bitterness, but I could put it all aside. Should there be any reason to think that he would want to know me now, when he hasn't wanted to my whole life?

I don't even know what having a Dad is like, so I don't know if it's worth it. This stuff never really bothers me until I go to church and hear about all the family values stuff or watch a movie that has a poignant father-son scene.

2. pixing

pixing New Member

You're looking for approval and acceptance (things that every child wants and needs) from a person who either doesn't want to or isn't capable of providing it. Are you prepared to drive the relationship and accept what he's willing to give without being hurt or disappointed?