GUN Shotgun crew... need advice

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by MrSlappyPants, Aug 9, 2006.

1. MrSlappyPants

MrSlappyPants New Member

Ok, let me start by saying I'm completely new to shotguns. Never owned one. Only fired a couple in my life, and don't even know what they were. I am NOT new to firearms in general though (I have my CCW and a few pistols).

I've decided I'm going to take my hunter safety course this year, and start deer hunting. I have never hunted either, but all my in-laws do and like to take hunting trips, hunting weekends, etc... that they would like me to go on with them and I think I would enjoy it. So, I would like to go out and get a shotgun, but need some advice on what to get. Everywhere I read people are set in Remington 870s, and mossberg 500s... but these seem to be all the typical "home defense shotgun" threads. I'm just having some difficulty finding topics directed at shotgun reviews FOR HUNTING. Granted, I will keep the gun in my room, and would use it if the need arose, but I'm thinking primarily for hunting. Would either of those choices still be good for hunting? What options should I be looking for? Another thing worth mentioning is that I'm cross eye dominant (right handed, left eye dominant) so I need to have a gun with a stock that will still be comfortable to shoot. What price range am I looking at for a decent gun here? I guess any and all info and advice you more experienced guys could provide would be great. Thanks! :bigthumb:

2. thedude11

thedude11 New Member

The 870s and 500s will work perfectly. I have 18.5" and 28" barrels for my Mossy 500, the 18.5" will obviously be no good for hunting. I haven't gone hunting with my Mossy yet, but I see no reason why the 28" wouldn't work. I'm not going to be deer hunting when I go, so I'm not sure what kind of shot you'd need(slug vs. buckshot).

3. 7

7 First comes smiles, then lies. Last is gunfire.

4. MrSlappyPants

MrSlappyPants New Member