She wants to get married...

Discussion in 'Vaginarium' started by Hahawhat?, Feb 11, 2009.

1. Hahawhat?

Hahawhat? New Member

So my SO and I have been dating for over 6 years (both 22 now) and she has been pushing getting married really bad the last few years and it is starting to bug the hell out of me. Personally I don't want to get married because I am a broke college student who lives with his parents and if we get married we would still live with my parents till college is over, now I think if someone is married they shouldn't live with their parents or anything like that.

I am perfectly fine with waiting till college is over and getting married but she wants to do it ASAP, I understand that we have been dating on and off for a long time but am I being stupid for wanting to wait till college is over before I get married? I just don't think I am at the point in my life where I am ready to get married and make that commitment, all I am focusing on is graduation in 2 years and working so I can save up now for a house in the future.

Cliffs: SO wants to get married because we have been together for 6 years (both 22) and I want to wait another 2 years till we are done with college. Am I being stupid?

2. Joshua

Joshua ambition over everything OT Supporter

No. You're not.

3. Ford4Life

Ford4Life Guest

You aren't being stupid. Finish school, get your career established, then talk about marriage.

4. Coco Monkey

Coco Monkey OT Supporter

6 years is a long time granted. If you two were out of college I'd say there's no point in waiting another two. But the whole college situation validates your reasoning.

Reassure her that you two will get married when things settle down more and you two get your lives on track more.

I'm getting married this fall, but we're both 27. Those years after college getting a career in line and started makes the difference.

5. D7

D7 OT Supporter

Definitely wait. You have your whole life ahead of you.

6. Hahawhat?