Sharing A Wireless Connection

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Sexual Vanilla, Mar 7, 2007.

  1. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Okay here's the deal...I have a desktop (XP) with a wireless card and ethernet card. It is a good distance away from the router, but it has a decent signal. My Xbox is right next to the desktop, and I want to be able to get online with my Xbox as well. I had a wireless bridge for my Xbox, but it sucks horribly and can only pick up signal from 5 feet away.

    I am wanting to buy a larger gain antenna for my wireless card, then connect my Xbox to the desktop using the ethernet connection and use ICS to share the desktop's wireless connection. However, ICS is not an option under a wireless network (only wired has this option). Is there any way I can do this? (and by "do this," I mean share a wireless connection) :wtc:
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2007
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    get a linksys WRT54G and install DD:WRT. Then put it into wireless-bridge mode and that gives you 4x10/100Mbps ports connected to your wireless network.
     
  3. 7960

    7960 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    60,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    It's not?

    [​IMG]
     
  4. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    WTF...???? Mine does not have that option. There is nothing in the Advanced tab besides Windows Firewall. :wtc: :wtc: :wtc:
     
  5. itsjim

    itsjim New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Windows XP Home Edition maybe?
     
  6. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    No, I have Professional. I can see it on the Local Area Connection properties, just not Wireless Network Connection properties.
     
  7. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    Mine has it :dunno:
     
  8. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    What in the flying fuck. :o
     
  9. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    My solution is the only one here that actually works for this guy... and he can use the xbox without the computer being on!
     
  10. 7960

    7960 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    60,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Your solution also costs the guy $50 and we've demonstrated that there's something funny about his PC that, if he can fix, will end up being free.
     
  11. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Correct! And I figured out what the problem was after all. I had disabled the ethernet connection (Local Area Connection) in Network Connections because I wasn't using it at the time...and apparently Windows XP assumes because it's disabled, you do not have another interface to share your Wireless Connection with, so the option for ICS is gone. Once I enabled the Local Area Connection, ICS appeared in the Wireless Connection Advanced tab. God bless Windows.
     
  12. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    it's better to spend a couple bucks and get something good than ghetto-rig it.
     
  13. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    I hardly think using a built-in fuction of Windows XP such as ICS is "ghetto-rigging" it.

    Be that as it may, it is also 100% free.
     
  14. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
  15. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    that is definitely ghetto.
     
  16. 7960

    7960 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    60,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    :ugh: It's better to do it for free if that's an option.


    I've seen those. But I've also seen them introduce more noise so the signal may travel farther but in reality it won't be much better. You have nothing to lose by trying...except $0.04 worth of aluminum foil.
     
  17. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Exactly. I will try it out this weekend and report back if anyone is interested.
     

Share This Page