SFF LAN box, Hornet Pro, Fragbox 2?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by PenguinWithLime, Jun 29, 2006.

  1. PenguinWithLime

    PenguinWithLime New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In the wires.
    Okay, as a follow up to my last thread, I want to buy a SFF LAN machine sub $2000, hopfully around $1300. I'm looking at the Hornet Pro and the Fragbox 2. The fragbox really pushing my budget.

    Recommendations? Criticisms?


    EDIT: Would it be more practical for me to buy a FragBox chassis and build the thing myself? Of course if I did that I wouldnt get a good warranty or the freebies that come from Falcon NW... Plus I wouldnt get the 3 day burn-in that Falcon does.
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    I have visited Falcon Northwest's facility in Medford, Oregon... It's not very impressive. Their "burn-in" is nothing that you can't do yourself. It is essentially a batch script -- that they wrote in, oh, I'd say 15 minutes -- that will run tools such as 3dmark, quake3, prime95, memtest86+, etc.

    You can do all that yourself.

    Furthermore, their warranty isn't that great. All components that I recommend carry a *minimum* 3 year warranty. Some have 5-year and lifetime warranties.

    Go to www.silverstonetek.com, and check out their cases. Silverstone makes the new fragbox case, iirc, and you can buy that. Then build your own machine.
     
  3. PenguinWithLime

    PenguinWithLime New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In the wires.
    Thanks jolly, you seem pretty knowledgable here. But I think I will probably end up going through Falcon for it. I'd really appretiate it if you (or anyone really) would give me some insight on the differant components from Falcon's configurator. Remember I want to stay around $2000 - $2200ish (EDIT: Ok now it's more like 2500.... how did that happen lol...) and I am going to use the machine primarily for gaming with some light video editing thrown in.

    EDIT: you can just email me your configuration if you want to

    -Thaaaanks :)
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2006
  4. PenguinWithLime

    PenguinWithLime New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In the wires.
    I'm still stuck on which processor and vid card to get, I'm looking at the AMD Athlon64 3800+ Dual Core ATM for the processor. And the 2X nVidia GeForce 7600 GT 256MB in SLI. Or are there better choices for me that wont bring the price up too much?

    thanks
     
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    I wouldn't get SLI.
     
  6. PenguinWithLime

    PenguinWithLime New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In the wires.
    What would you suggest instead?
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    well fuck... if you don't get SLI there is ONLY ONE OTHER CHOICE. :rolleyes:
     
  8. Clarity

    Clarity New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,309
    Likes Received:
    0
    not sli
     
  9. Clarity

    Clarity New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,309
    Likes Received:
    0
    i mean come the fuck on, what else is there? integrated? :squint::squint::squint:
     
  10. PenguinWithLime

    PenguinWithLime New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In the wires.
    uh, duh guys. I mean what other vid card would you get? Just a single nVidia GeForce 7600 GT 256MB..
     
  11. PenguinWithLime

    PenguinWithLime New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In the wires.
    And what is the downside of SLI? Why not SLI?
     

Share This Page