A&P Several photography questions.

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by zaphod, Mar 3, 2005.

1. zaphod

zaphod Smashing Treats!

I saw this site, and I was wondering how some of these effects were done. The pictures are incredible, and it even inspired me to get a new SLR (my old one broke, and I opted for digital. Other than taking drunk pictures, it's not really useful for this type of photography).

1. How do you think this photographer got these pictures to look so dramatic? My B&W's have always looked like semi-washed out pieces of gray shit. :o I'm amazed how he even achieved this look. Maybe it's just because I'm a newb and it's really not that hard, but even after a photography class I don't really get it.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. I'm really looking to do unique photography, and in addition to some awesome black and white (as above) I kind of want to try this: http://www.lostamerica.com (click nighttime photography). How hard is tungsten slide film to develop ($), and is it expensive to buy?

3. What types of filters could I use that would make my pictures a lot more interesting? Not as a crutch, but for an artistic approach. I'm sure this is a dumb question, but do they have any filters that can imitate infrared film? I've always loved infrared and the way it looks, but unfortunately my old camera had a slight hole in it and it would ruin the film (so I never bought any.. it was also too expensive). I'm referring to filters for both color and black and white, which would make the pictures look very unique (ie weird colors, inverted colors, super high contrast etc etc).

2. mojito

mojito New Member

First one is either a lot of filters or IR

2nd one just looks like some PS work, the sky and shadows would never really appear that way in the real world, but some filters were probably used as well.