Setting up XP and having a network problem

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Cory Trevor, Mar 23, 2008.

  1. Cory Trevor

    Cory Trevor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    66,399
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Champaign
    After finding out Linux wasn't really for me I decided to go back to XP on my other PC and have run into a brick wall. This is the first time I've ever done a clean install of XP without anything on it to start off with. When trying to setup my network it says "The wizard cannot find your network hardware." and I can't make a wired connection. I don't know what drivers to install for my motherboard because I bought it used without a disc. The motherboard is an MSI k8n Neo4 Platinum.
     
  2. Cory Trevor

    Cory Trevor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    66,399
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Champaign
  3. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Looks like you did your own homework.

    Assuming that you installed 32 bit windows,

    you want to download the LAN driver (the reason you don't have internet)
    http://global.msi.com.tw/index.php?func=driverfile&dno=2414&i=0

    the motherboard driver
    http://global.msi.com.tw/index.php?func=driverfile&dno=2424&i=0

    and the audio driver
    http://global.msi.com.tw/index.php?func=driverfile&dno=2344&i=0
     
  4. Cory Trevor

    Cory Trevor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    66,399
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Champaign
    I installed the LAN one and then ran the exe but it did nothing.
     
  5. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    What do you mean it did nothing?

    Do you mean you don't have internet?

    Or do you mean the program didn't install properly?
     
  6. Cory Trevor

    Cory Trevor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    66,399
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Champaign
    I think it installed properly because it's showing up in the Add or Remove Progrems list but it just didn't change anything.
     
  7. Cory Trevor

    Cory Trevor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    66,399
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Champaign
    Alright, the second link worked. Thanks a lot I'm on it now.
     
  8. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Do you know how to setup your internet connection?

    It doesn't do it automatically, unless you're behind a router that's already configured.
     
  9. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    You always have to do the MB/chipset drivers before anything else.
     
  10. Cory Trevor

    Cory Trevor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    66,399
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Champaign
    The internet just started working as soon as the motherboard driver was installed.
     
  11. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    You're obviously behind a router, then.
     

Share This Page