Setting up Windows 2003 as a webserver inside virtual pc

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by morgue, Aug 23, 2007.

  1. morgue

    morgue New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    8,278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey, I got this to the point where I can view the files on the web server within virtual pc but when I go to any other computer I get nothing.. "the server is taking too long to respond"

    My friend was having a similar issue on ubuntu getting another webserver to run and he executed "sudo ethtool -K eth0 sg off rx off tx off tso off"... and it worked... I don't know if that will help me at all but I thought it might...

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. Kewlb

    Kewlb New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,510
    Likes Received:
    0
    need more info.

    If I have this right you have a PC that has a host OS and guest OS. The guest OS is w2k3 and running as an IIS webserver.

    What is the IP addy of the host and the guest? (including subnet mask and default gateway)
     
  3. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    What VM software are you running? Make sure you are not using the shared networking option.
     
  4. morgue

    morgue New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    8,278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Host (Windows Vista):
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.12
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

    Guest (Windows 2003 Server) under Microsoft Virtual PC 2007:
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.12
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

    The IP Address on the web site identification is 192.168.131.65 which is the only option it gives me.

    The IP Address I get from whatismyip.com is the same on both systems.
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2007
  5. morgue

    morgue New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    8,278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Microsoft Virtual PC 2007
    Hmm I think that's network sharing thing is what I'm using... I had to set it to Shared Network (NAT) so it could get access to the Internet... with the other options: Local only and Intel Gigabit Lan Connect (my ethernet card) it wouldn't connect.
     
  6. morgue

    morgue New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    8,278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got it... used the network card and changed the DNS on it to what I had on vista :big grin:

    I still can't get to the Internet from VM though
     
  7. Kewlb

    Kewlb New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,510
    Likes Received:
    0
    you can't use the same ip address on both the guest and virtual PC.
     
  8. morgue

    morgue New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    8,278
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just changed that... Now I have this on the guest
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.145
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.12

    I've tried many things on the default gateway but nothing seems to work...
    What should the default gateway be and what should the preferred DNS be?

    Do I have to change any settings on the host?

    Thanks
     
  9. Kewlb

    Kewlb New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,510
    Likes Received:
    0
    dg should never change.. your default gateway is the ip address of your router. It is 192.168.1.1
     
  10. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    are you at a csu?
     
  11. morgue

    morgue New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    8,278
    Likes Received:
    0
    don't think so
     
  12. morgue

    morgue New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    8,278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Right now, when I click go on IE on the guest, it says connecting to site 'xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx'. loads for a while and then nothing.. I just get "internet explorer could not open the search page".


    the IP it is trying to connect is the website's ip... it just won't open it
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2007
  13. morgue

    morgue New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    8,278
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think it's the DNS what's causing the issue... I don't know what to set it to though
     
  14. morgue

    morgue New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    8,278
    Likes Received:
    0
  15. migwuk

    migwuk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    try not using dhcp or any automatic ip address settings on the server. set a manual network address for the server and subnet address and it should work. the default gateway will still be the same.
     
  16. morgue

    morgue New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    8,278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Didn't work
     
  17. Riiiiiiight....

    Riiiiiiight.... AVAST!!!!

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City, AZ
    You are natting from your host os. You will need to set the Virtual machine guest to obtain an ip via dhcp and you should be able to access the internet from the virtual machine guest. However you will not be able to access the virtual machine unless you forward the appropriate ports.

    I would set virtual pc up with a network bridge between the host and the guest. That will allow your Virtual machine to access the internet with your above settings as well as you will be able to access your webserver without having to mess with nat.
     
  18. morgue

    morgue New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    8,278
    Likes Received:
    0
    How would I do that?
     
  19. Riiiiiiight....

    Riiiiiiight.... AVAST!!!!

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City, AZ
    All you have to do is power down the virtual machine. Select it from the list of virtual machines. Select settings on the right hand side. In that window there will be a networking option. Click on networking and in adapter 1 select your actual physical network connection(ie mine shows up as Realtek 8139 gigabit NIC) That will bridge your network card to the virtual machine and allow it access your physical network.
     
  20. Riiiiiiight....

    Riiiiiiight.... AVAST!!!!

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City, AZ
    You also might want to try running ipconfig /flushdns from the command line of the virtual machine as well as ipconfig /release & ipconfig /renew.
     
  21. morgue

    morgue New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    8,278
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's weird, I can access the LAN but I can't get to the Internet... Is it possible that the DNS server is blocking the computer or something like that?

    The DNS is a Windows 2003 server.
     
  22. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Stop using Virtual PC 2007 and start using Virtual Server 2005r2. Virtual Server has a better virtual hard drive setup and you don't have to have the virtual machine open in a window constantly for it to run.

    It might also fix your network connectivity issues.
     
  23. morgue

    morgue New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    8,278
    Likes Received:
    0
    A very similar issue is happening to me when I try to connect via wireless, so I'm guessing is something related the the DNS... that's why I want to know if on windows 2003 I can block or limit someone's dns privilegies...
     

Share This Page