Setting up Dual Displays

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by psujeeperman02, Apr 27, 2006.

  1. psujeeperman02

    psujeeperman02 "Hi Sal"

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do i set up a dual display config on my win xp desktop?

    I have one Nvidia card installed now, and my friend just gave me his nvidia card because he just got a new pc.

    My pc is about 3 years old, so dont think it has two AGP slots...but it may....i will find out soon.

    Is there any special software i need to install to enable both monitors to work together?
     
  2. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Ultramon
     
  3. rsxm5

    rsxm5 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,961
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Your PC will not have two AGP slots. Either you would need an AGP card with two display outputs, or an AGP and a PCI video card.
     
  4. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    Ultramon will add new physical outputs to a video card? Sweet, maybe it is worth the money after all.
     
  5. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    You don't need any special software, XP and the card drivers will handle it just fine. Ultramon will add some nice features but it is NOT required. You do need a video card with two outputs though. Almost any new card these days has two outputs (usually 1 VGA and 1 DVI which can be converted to VGA if needed). You can't put two AGP cards into one system. The spec just doesn't support more than one on a board (of it it does I've never seen one).
     
  6. psujeeperman02

    psujeeperman02 "Hi Sal"

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, i have a PCI video card stashed away in my company's storage room. Im pretty sure no one will ever need this again, so i think i will take it home with me and give it a try. I know i def have a few PCI slots open so this should fit just find. Now, to find the drivers for this old pci video card.................
     
  7. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Note also that not all cards with two outputs can actually drive dual monitors. They need to be separate heads.

    That said, I think all new video cards with two outputs are dual-headed. My FX5200 from about 5 years ago drives two monitors just great.
     
  8. Zak8022

    Zak8022 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    dawt.


    I love UltraMon too... very neat features. But i still got by for about a year before i found out about it just running with the XP features and whatever nVidia came with.
     
  9. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    True, but I can't think of anything recently made that has two ports and is not dual head.
     
  10. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Dell had a Precision Workstation model with dual AGP slots. Used a funky ServerWerks chipset to do it. As far as I know, Intel never developed a production chipset for this.
     

Share This Page