Setting up an e-business site

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Pip, Mar 12, 2004.

1. Pip

Pip Guest

I'm looking to set up a site selling stuff for my dad's business. The kind of thing where the customer adds products to a shopping cart and then is able to purchase them by entering a credit card. Does anyone know of any good books/sites that cover this kind of stuff?

Also, I'd like to host the site on a machine at his office, not through a third-party hosting service. Any books/sites that explain how to do this?

I have pretty extensive experience programming in C, C++, Java, JavaScript, ASP, VBScript, and SQL, and I want to learn Perl and PHP, so I'm not technically retarded.

Thanks for the help.

2. Astro

Astro Code Monkey

Are you comfy with server admin? If not, who will help you or come in when: the box has been compromised, hardware failure, tape rotation, code gets stuck

What kind of bandwidth comes into the business? A T1 may work for a while. How popular do you expect the site to be and how much bandwidth do you predict will be used? Is the 'net connection used for anything else? If so, can you afford for that connection to be swamped? If its swamped, are they prepared to get more bandwidth?

I have mixed feelings about credit card processing. You have to start somewhere I guess. But you really need something to get all your mistakes out on. Can you afford to make mistakes with this site? If so, go for it!! If not, seriously consider getting outside human help (consulting maybe). Having "been there, done that" mistakes are easy to make and can really cost some pennies. But at the same time, credit card processing isn't difficult either. I'm not sure what books are out there for credit card processing. Typically, you code for the gateway and the gateway will provide you specs. If you can't code to meet their specs, then you're not ready to built a shopping cart. From what you're saying, this shouldn't be a problem. But its also not my site...