Setting up a VPN with Win2000 Server

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Alt+F4, Jan 26, 2005.

  1. Alt+F4

    Alt+F4 official OT hockey stud

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    3,790
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Got a call from a friend this morning...his boss (small mortgage company) wants me to setup a VPN to their Win2000 server so that a few of their reps can work from home.

    I've setup a VPN in Win2003, but never really played with 2000 Server. Is it much different? Do you need a separate VPN server, as most of the articles I've read say you should?

    I still have to go down there and meet with him to see what their setup is, for all I know this server doesn't even have net access. They had an IT guy come in and set up their network a few years ago, but nobody's really touched it since.

    *edit - oh, and he wants to know a price, too. would a normal contracter bill hourly or a flat rate, and what kind of $$$ should I say? I've never done any consulting work like this before, been at my same job since college*
     
  2. TV-MA

    TV-MA Guest

    I haven't setup a windows vpn, only Linux vpn, I can only imagine it to be fairly easy. As far as what to charge, do it hourly so you don't burn yourself, and don't go any lower than $90/hr anything below that is slave labor.

    So you need to setup the windows 2000 server to be the machine that if going to host the VPN?

    Are they running a firewall? What kind? you should be able to port forward the requests, I believe by default it's 1723.


    google search yields this hwo to for setup

    http://techrepublic.com.com/5100-6268-1032135.html


    hope this helps a little..
     
  3. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,617
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA

    If I was a customer and I was paying someone $90 an hour I sure as hell wouldn't want to see them on an internet message board asking how to setup what I am paying them for. :mamoru:
     
  4. Alt+F4

    Alt+F4 official OT hockey stud

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    3,790
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    :rofl:

    I agree. But to my friends, I am the all-knowing internet computer WIZARD.

    Can't we just let them think it's true? Thanks for the tips.
     
  5. AbortionSurvivor

    AbortionSurvivor Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    3,016
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nor. Cal
    Is there a firewall?
    you may need to forward ports past the fiirewall.

    Yah? i think that right.
     
  6. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    A separate computer is only necessary to avoid browsing issues. You may find that you can't see any computers when in fact if you map a network drive to it, it works fine. That's really the only problem I've run into
     
  7. Alt+F4

    Alt+F4 official OT hockey stud

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    3,790
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    OK, just spoke with my friend to get some network info. The IP on his server is a 192.168, and there's only one NIC. He said they also have a web server there. Would I be better off putting a second NIC in the server he needs to connect to, or using the web server also as a VPN server?
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2005
  8. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    No, it would be better off to a) change the IP range at work to 10.x.x.x and b) port forward the 1723 port though the router to the server. It does not need a second NIC or a public IP for it to work.
     
  9. Alt+F4

    Alt+F4 official OT hockey stud

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    3,790
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    I'm not sure the router has a public IP. I'm going there Saturday to get a clearer picture of how their network is setup.
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2005
  10. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Uh, it has to. There's no way you could access the internet without one.
     

Share This Page