Service pack 3 blue screen

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Hookupz, May 8, 2008.

  1. Hookupz

    Hookupz DAT ASS

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    so i installed service pack 3 on my desktop and it told me to restart like every other update so i did and when i started my comp back up it blue screens and says

    A problem has been detected and windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer.

    If this is the first time you've seen this stop error screen, restart your computer. if this screen appears again, follow these steps:

    The BIOS in this system is not fully ACPI compliant. please contact your system vendor or visit www.hardware-update.com for an updated bios. If you are unable to obtain an updated bios or the latest bios supplied by your vendor is not acpi compliant you can turn off acpi mode during text mode setup to do this simply press the f7 key when you are prompted to install storage drivers the system will not notify you that the f7 key was pressed it will silently disable acpi and allow you to continue your installation.

    Technical Information:
    *** STOP: 0x000000A5 (0x00000002, 0x8A562D68, 0xE1019A70, 0x8A59E9D8)

    Help please :wtc:
     
  2. AeroSquid

    AeroSquid New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    9,627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KC
    /update your bios
     
  3. trouphaz

    trouphaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wirelessly posted via wap.offtopic.com (Mozilla/2.0 (compatible; MSIE 3.02; Windows CE; PPC; 240x320) BlackBerry8703e/4.1.0 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/105)

    Is that what it is? I thought it was microsoft's ghey way of pushing more people to that piece of shiit vista. I just booted in safe mode and uninstalled it when it happened to me.
     
  4. Hookupz

    Hookupz DAT ASS

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    it wont even let me boot into safe mode
     
  5. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Did you try updating your BIOS...like the error message said? :hsugh:
     
  6. aim2kill

    aim2kill New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    deployed.
    yeah, just update or flash bios, should take care of it:bigthumb:
     
  7. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    The final version of it is out?
     
  8. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Yeah, it was pushed out Tuesday
     
  9. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Just checked Windows update and got it...

    Installed fine...
     
  10. trouphaz

    trouphaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    does anyone know how to set it so that XP doesn't immediately reboot after a bsod? i can't actually catch the message when i had it and it was stuck in a reboot loop. i was able to boot into safe mode and remove SP3, but i'd like to know what the issue was.

    oh, and i tried removing video drivers in safe mode and booting and that made no difference. i also ran msconfig and disabled everything and it still blue screened on bootup.
     
  11. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Hit F8 during startup and select disable reboot on system failure.

    In Windows, go to My Computer -> Properties -> Startup and Recovery -> uncheck automatically restart.
     
  12. trouphaz

    trouphaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    nice, thanks. i'll try that when i get home.
     
  13. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    When it bsod's, it makes a minidump.

    If you upload the minidump, one of us can open it for you so that you can
    see exactly what the conflict was.

    The minidump will be in the Windows folder on your C drive.
    In there, or the System32 folder, I forget.
     
  14. Bloke

    Bloke Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Messages:
    26,775
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    wasnt this update supposed to make things faster?
     
  15. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
  16. trouphaz

    trouphaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    i don't think it was planned to make things faster, but a lot of sites were reporting a 10% performance gain after installing it. i think they were comparing a fresh system with SP2 vs a fresh system with SP3.
     
  17. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
  18. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    nah. SP3 is just a collection of all the previous updates plus a few new ones, combined into one service pack.

    most of it are hotfixes, security updates, and functionality enhancements.

    if you have SP2 and has installed all the updates,... SP3 will just make sure you didn't missed something then fill in the gaps if it has to.
     

Share This Page