Seriously what is the difference between....

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Y2kAccord, Jul 27, 2003.

  1. Y2kAccord

    Y2kAccord Everything happens for reasons I just dont know

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2000
    Messages:
    56,089
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas Bound!
    A Celeron and a P4 processor? I am looking for a serious answer.

    I know on OT a Celeron processor, everyone dogs them, but for internet as the main function of the computer do I really need a p4

    there is a $100 price difference.
     
  2. Y2kAccord

    Y2kAccord Everything happens for reasons I just dont know

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2000
    Messages:
    56,089
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas Bound!
  3. cdk-rod

    cdk-rod Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    179,297
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    it all is about how the chips are made....p4's are made better...of course they'll be a little bit better..but if your just gonna be browsting why need a p4...a celeron will do...get a p4 if u wanna do some gaming or graphics work
     
  4. Y2kAccord

    Y2kAccord Everything happens for reasons I just dont know

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2000
    Messages:
    56,089
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas Bound!

    Cool, I think that answers my question.. thanks :cool:
     
  5. cunninglinguist

    cunninglinguist RAEPERQUICKING

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    28,921
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    NYC
    dont celeron come with half the cache of P4s?
     
  6. P-chan

    P-chan New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    52,586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio....son
    Or 1/4 the cache, depending on the chip. Slightly older Celerons (still on sale today) have 128k cache, while some newer Celerons have 256k. All the desktop P4's have 512k.
     
  7. Y2kAccord

    Y2kAccord Everything happens for reasons I just dont know

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2000
    Messages:
    56,089
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas Bound!

    Ok true, but what seriously is the difference surfing the internet between 128k cache and 512k of cache?
     
  8. Subie Driver

    Subie Driver Eye see what you did there.

    Joined:
    May 6, 2001
    Messages:
    5,641
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    <--- Intel employee

    Yup, main difference is in the on-die cache. I think the instruction sets are a little different, but the biggest diff is the cache. If all you do is internet, then a Celeron should be just fine for you. It would probably even be fine for most games. But I'm still going to say buy the more expensive P4, I want a raise this year!
     
  9. Y2kAccord

    Y2kAccord Everything happens for reasons I just dont know

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2000
    Messages:
    56,089
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas Bound!

    thanks for the info :big grin:
     
  10. Subie Driver

    Subie Driver Eye see what you did there.

    Joined:
    May 6, 2001
    Messages:
    5,641
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    The chip will have o send more of it's calculations off the chip for storage, leading to a little longer time to do the calculations, due to the transfer times.
     
  11. Y2kAccord

    Y2kAccord Everything happens for reasons I just dont know

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2000
    Messages:
    56,089
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas Bound!
    but for internet applications it probably wouldnt even be noticable
     

Share This Page