Seperate Network

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by bacid, Sep 9, 2004.

  1. bacid

    bacid New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2002
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canuck
    I want to seperate 2 sections of my home network so that they can't see each other.

    For example, i have PC1, PC2, PC3, PC4

    I want all 4 PC's to have internet, but I want it so that PC1 and PC2 can see each other on the network but cannot see PC3 and PC4 and vice versa

    How can I do this without buying an expensive managed router which allows for VLAN's?

    I know I can setup VLAN's using linux but that is not possible (as this setup is for someone who is a PC-dummy)

    any suggestions are greatly appreciated
     
  2. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    There's an easy way to do it so that PC1 and 2 can't see 3 and 4 but this way would allow 3 and 4 to see 1 and 2. Is that good enough?

    Or another way is to buy two simple routers.
     
  3. bacid

    bacid New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2002
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canuck
    tell me how to do it so that PC1 and PC2 cannot see PC 3 and PC 4 but PC3 and PC4 can see everyone..

    regarding getting 2 routers.. i suppose i could do:
    cable modem -> router and then have port1 go to routerA and port2 go to routerB and that way they would be on 2 different subnets and wouldnt see each other.. correct?

    thanks again
     
  4. Keyzs

    Keyzs OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, MI
    A question to answer your question???

    So the router would be 10.0.0.1 255.255.255.0
    Machine one 10.0.0.9 255.255.255.248
    Machine two 10.0.0.10 255.255.255.248
    Machine three 10.0.0.17 255.255.255.248
    Machine four 10.0.0.18 255.255.255.248

    One network 10.0.0.8/29
    Hosts 10.0.0.9 - 10.0.0.14
    Broadcast 10.0.0.15

    Two network 10.0.0.16/29
    Hosts 10.0.0.17 - 10.0.0.22
    Broadcast 10.0.0.23

    The router 10.0.0.0/16
    Hosts 10.0.0.1 - 10.0.0.254
    Broadcast 10.0.0.255
    Covering both networks.

    In theory it should work...
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2004
  5. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    It's pretty simple actually - subnet masks:

    Router: 192.168.1.1 subnet mask of 255.255.255.0
    PC1-2: 192.168.1.2-3 subnet mask of 255.255.255.128
    PC3-4: 192.168.1.129-130 subnet mask of 255.255.255.0

    You can separate both by using subnet mask of 255.255.255.128, however PC3-4 would not have access to the router (because 192.168.1.1 falls outside of its subnet).
     
  6. bacid

    bacid New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2002
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canuck
    hmm.. the only thing about this is that the person could manually specify another IP and then gain access to the "secure" network.. right?

    if i got 2 routers and put each router into their own subnet would they be hidden from each other?
     
  7. Keyzs

    Keyzs OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, MI
    If you have a router off the modem, then another router off from that and you do not open the ports then no they would not able to see each other.

    Modem - WAN (Router 1) Lan - WAN (Router 2) Lan
    With PC's off both routers, they would not see each other and they could not do anything about it without changing router settings.
     
  8. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Yeah, two routers if you want it secure - I thought you were going for the dirty quick job. Personally I'd use a modem -> switch/hub -> split into two routers.
     
  9. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Yes, the router can see both networks, but neither subnet can see the router in your example.
     
  10. SL1200MK4

    SL1200MK4 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,552
    Likes Received:
    0
    Depends on what kind of router you have. If you use a linux/BSD box as your router, then you can do that with 3 NICs. One for the WAN, and two each for one LAN, you can set it up so that PC 1 and PC2 can't even talk to PC 3 and PC 4 even if the IP is manually specified, and vice versa.

    If you get two routher, it will depends on how you set them up so that you can have 2 networks that is totally isolated. But then you will probably need another routher to join the 2 routers together and share one single WAN internet conntection, unless you can manually specicy routes and consturct the routing table manually from at least one of the routhers. But then again, if you can do that, you will only need that single router to begin with...
     

Share This Page