SCSI RAID Question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by strange_wu, Jul 27, 2006.

  1. strange_wu

    strange_wu Large Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Collins, CO
    I have a poweredge 1750 with 3 hot swappable drive bays. Right now two bays are filled and they're RAID 1 (mirroring each other). This is a stupid question, but can I just throw in a 3rd drive and have it NOT be a part of the raid setup?
     
  2. EagerZeroedThick

    EagerZeroedThick New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    5,971
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In a blade enclosure near you
  3. EagerZeroedThick

    EagerZeroedThick New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    5,971
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In a blade enclosure near you
    you cant have 3 drives in a mirrored setup anyways


    edit:

    i am wrong
    you just need a minimum of two drives, there is no maximum
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2006
  4. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,458
    Likes Received:
    12
    Of course you can. You can have an 1 million drive mirror set if your controller allows it.
     
  5. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    The way you do it is (assuming you have a PercRAID card) by adding an extra configuration that consists of your third hard drive set-up in a single-disk RAID-0. (since there's only one disk, the typical RAID-0 safety issues don't apply.) Then initialize the new RAID and you're good to go.

    That said, if you CAN include your extra drive in the primary RAID, you should. There's no reason not to protect all of the drives by RAIDing them together; you can always set up logical drives inside the RAID, if you still want them to act like separate disks.
     

Share This Page