screwed up my computer again

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by mcslaughter, Jun 27, 2005.

  1. mcslaughter

    mcslaughter Unstable

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    I held the power button in to shut down the system when every thing froze and now windows wont recognize my internet connection, cant use help/support, system restore no good, mcafee wont load. anything i can do to fix? I don't want to reformat and loose all my shit. i have 25gb of shit i never got around to backing up.
     
  2. Goonigoogoo

    Goonigoogoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    14,765
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you boot into safe mode?
     
  3. peterthesmart

    peterthesmart New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    If you have to reformat, you can simply put the harddrive into another computer and copy the data over to another harddrive.
     
  4. Slid.

    Slid. I'm a guy.

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,928
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NH
    Try safemode...sometimes after booting into safemode you can restart and it will normally boot (emphesis on *sometimes*).
     
  5. mcslaughter

    mcslaughter Unstable

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    tried still wont let me access anything.:o
     
  6. mcslaughter

    mcslaughter Unstable

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    didn't even think of that. I'll give it a shot:noes:
     

Share This Page