Screen capture software recommendations for WMV files?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Astro, Oct 14, 2003.

  1. Astro

    Astro Code Monkey

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2000
    Messages:
    2,047
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    I've got some video captured from an autocross and its in WMV format. I'd like to grab 1 frame to use as a thumbnail on my site. Print screen isn't cutting it. Anyone have any recommendations for something free or shareware that allows saving and is good for a day or two? Thanks!

    (I've got ATI play back software which works great for MPG and AVI, but not ASF or WMV - no surprise since I'm working with a MS flavored file)
     
  2. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,614
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Performs screen capture from Windows desktop programs and game screen capture from hard-to-grab DirectX, Direct3D, 3Dfx Voodoo and Glide mode games. Also captures screen frames from many software DVD players and video software, auto-scrolls long documents, and offers built-in editing and annotation tools for marking up screen captures. US $35. Trial download available.

    http://www.hyperionics.com/hsdx/index.asp

    Just found it on google, so I have no personal experience. :dunno:
     
  3. Astro

    Astro Code Monkey

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2000
    Messages:
    2,047
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    I had done a quick search on google and hadn't turned up anything too exciting. I tried HyperSnap. I'm not sure I'd get $35 of use out of it. It did get a frame capture, but it dumped its logo on about 1/3rd of the image (which doesn't leave much left when you're working with a 320x240 image).

    I hate Windows file formats...
     
  4. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,614
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Play the AVI in mplayer and screen grab it in linux. That is if you have a linux box.
     
  5. Astro

    Astro Code Monkey

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2000
    Messages:
    2,047
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    If it was an AVI all my problems would be solved. I've got a player that can grab frames from MPG and AVI. But the file is WMV and I'm screwed with WMP (I hate that thing!).
     
  6. Zourn

    Zourn 16-bit Ninja OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Using WMP, press Ctrl+I, pops-up a Save as... box. Works with AVI's, MPG's, DVD's, VCD's, and WMV's, but doesn't seem to work with ASX's.

    It's really that simple.
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2003
  7. Astro

    Astro Code Monkey

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2000
    Messages:
    2,047
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    CTRL+I doesn't work in WMP v6 and v7. Which version you referring to?
     
  8. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Or play the WMV in MPlayer...
     
  9. Astro

    Astro Code Monkey

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2000
    Messages:
    2,047
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    ah ha! I forgot about mplayer. Fired it up and it took a little bit of tweaking, but I was able to print screen it and pull the image in that way. Awesome! Thanks!
     
  10. Zourn

    Zourn 16-bit Ninja OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    i guess v8 and v9, those are the only two i've used and they both could do this.
     
  11. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,614
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA

    That's what I meant. :o
     
  12. Astro

    Astro Code Monkey

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2000
    Messages:
    2,047
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    I had read your post as if Linux was the solution. I completely forgot about mplayer and didn't make the connection that it was a Win app.
     
  13. Astro

    Astro Code Monkey

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2000
    Messages:
    2,047
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    v7 runs like crap on my 233MMX box. Its to be expected but v6 ran ok on it. I've got another box with a lot more power, but I'm leaving v6 on there. When I get back into the office, I'll check it out on my work machine and see what I can do with the latest version...
     
  14. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Heh, I can only use 6.4, because they haven't released anything newer for NT4 :o
     
  15. aphoric

    aphoric Even if god did exist, it would be necessary to ab

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Leaving Afghanistan
    Camtasia is what we use at work
     
  16. Paulblo

    Paulblo OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,723
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portland
    If you turn off hardware acceleration in wmp you can take screep caps with the Print Screen button..
     
  17. georgelb

    georgelb Guest

    I use hypersnap and it works with everything I have tried it with.
     
  18. Duke Skywalker

    Duke Skywalker OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central California
    Yep, Camtasia works pretty good for stills and video capturing.
     

Share This Page