School me on running Windows apps in OS X...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by verbal, Aug 8, 2009.

  1. verbal

    verbal Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    22,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did a bootcamp install of Windows 7 but I've barely used it. I have one Windows app that I'd really like to use but I don't want to boot into Win7 just for it. It isn't a game or graphic intensive app. What's the best way to run it in OS X? What issues could I run into when doing this?
     
  2. Pseudonym

    Pseudonym --

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Run VMWare Fusion. The only issue is that if you don't have much ram it might be slow sometimes.
     
  3. verbal

    verbal Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    22,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the previous Macbook Pro maxed with 4 gigs ram. I'm about to reload it cause I have Safari freezing issues and system lag sometimes. Hope it can handle it.
     
  4. Pseudonym

    Pseudonym --

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    You shouldn't have any problems with 4GB of ram. I have 2GB in my Blackbook and it hangs up a little when I boot or resume the virtual machine, but after that it's fine.
     
  5. verbal

    verbal Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    22,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    So you guys just run it as a virtual machine? Or something else?
     
  6. DouggieJ

    DouggieJ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    8,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York, NY USA
    You can set up VMWare to use your Boot Camp partition, then you have the choice of using it as a VM or booting into it natively.
     
  7. FartLighter

    FartLighter Resident Fart Expert OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Mammoth Lakes, CA
    Why VMware Fusion? VirtualBox is free and seems to work just as well.
     
  8. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    is there an osx version of the app you're trying to use?
     
  9. verbal

    verbal Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    22,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope. I wish Poker Tracker would get off their ass and make it. :wtc:
     

Share This Page