A&P School me: Making a watermark

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by Drunken Karnie Midget, Oct 21, 2008.

  1. Drunken Karnie Midget

    Drunken Karnie Midget In Yeo We Trust, All Others Pay Cash OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    39,145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dirty Canada
    How do you make a watermark in cs3? My wife makes chainmaille as a semi-professional hobby. Recently she's found some product pics of hers, that were being posted by other individuals, and claiming the work as their own. I've never had the need, since most of my photos suck balls, but when it comes to some asshat trying to take credit for her work, she's getting pissed. Any pointers, or do you just throw up a text layer every time you run an image through PP?
     
  2. alexromo

    alexromo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4,571
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wahiawa
    layers, opacity 50% or some shit
     
  3. alexromo

    alexromo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4,571
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wahiawa
    make a text layer and make that opaque
     
  4. Drunken Karnie Midget

    Drunken Karnie Midget In Yeo We Trust, All Others Pay Cash OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    39,145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dirty Canada
    And you just do that every time you edit an image, or group of images?
     
  5. Datass

    Datass New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    socal
    if ur going to watermark a pic, watermark 'em all.

    it's easier to make a file w/ the watermark done and then whenever you want to apply the watermark, you just drag and drop the layer from that file into the pic-to-be-watermarked just before you flatten image and save as jpg.

    or, u can do like me...but as u can see if someone really wants to jack the pic they can crop my shit out

    [​IMG]
     
  6. EWhytsell

    EWhytsell New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,296
    Likes Received:
    0
    If its not something where the image is totally important just make a watermark (text layer whatever) over the whole image. Would be to tempting to crop or attempt to edit it out if its just a product pic.
     
  7. alexromo

    alexromo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4,571
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wahiawa
    ok, heres what i did

    download arles, and goto "images" and either make text or apply a logo you designed

    and that will do it to batch files rather than individually
     
  8. Drunken Karnie Midget

    Drunken Karnie Midget In Yeo We Trust, All Others Pay Cash OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    39,145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dirty Canada
     
  9. Datass

    Datass New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    socal
    ^^ yeah. you have to make sure you size down on a consistent basis. on my file i have several different sizes.

    make an action that u can run on the image so that it gets sized to the same resolution, color profile, rgb mode, 8bit, etc so u dont get stupid warnings.
     
  10. Drunken Karnie Midget

    Drunken Karnie Midget In Yeo We Trust, All Others Pay Cash OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    39,145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dirty Canada
    I think that'll help... i started by making an image 3x1 inches @ 72dpi... then applied it to something that would have been about 4'x6' had it been in print... then tried to scale up the size of the watermark to compensate.


    Thanks for the help guys, i think i can take it from here.
     
  11. Drunken Karnie Midget

    Drunken Karnie Midget In Yeo We Trust, All Others Pay Cash OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    39,145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dirty Canada
    Yup, it all helped. I've now got a working watermark to use for her gear. Thanks all :bigok:
     
  12. someonenew

    someonenew He's Dangerous

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2002
    Messages:
    104,681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    best thing to do would be to create an action for it, then you can batch run the action on all your stuff.
     
  13. ballz

    ballz Two of 'em OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4,031
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St Petersburg, FL
    .

    actions ftw.
     
  14. Drunken Karnie Midget

    Drunken Karnie Midget In Yeo We Trust, All Others Pay Cash OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    39,145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dirty Canada
    I'll look into it, but i can just use the built in tutorial in cs3 to learn myself up on that. Only reason i came here to begin with is because Adobe apparently has a watermark registry service that it was going to force me into using... gave me nothing on just making one for mundane purposes. Thanks again guys.
     
  15. Harpoon--->

    Harpoon---> New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    lol at bike
     

Share This Page