sata/ide and mobo questions...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by DoucheBag, Dec 6, 2004.

1. DoucheBag

DoucheBag New Member

first off.. im a little new to this.. so please.. bear with me..
    In your opinions... which do you prefer.. and think is better.. SATA or and IDE connection.
    Do sata (lets say harddrives) have to be connected in a RAID arrangment? Or can it just be "daisy chained" like you typically would with 2 (or more) HDD's?
    Also.. can you use both ide AND sata connections if a mobo has support for both? For example.. can i use regular IDE optical drives (3) AND SATA hard drives (2)? Or is it a one or the other type ordeal?
    Is there any sort of "downside" to having sata drives not configured in a RAID? Id really like to avoid that if possible... because for one.. im not too familiar with it.. and secondly.. ive heard bad stories.

2. mr. texas

mr. texas New Member

ok....sata and ide for your purposes are the same thing. you cannot daisy chain a sata drive. each sata drive must use its own channel on the mobo/pci card. right now it comes down to price. the are about the same so i say its up to you. the sata cables are much neater as they are very skinny and have nice connectors on them. dont let anyone fool you into saying sata is faster because it is not. yes the bus can handle 150mb/s but you will never reach over 100mb/s burst speed. same with the ide bus its not saturated either. i would say go with sata drives i have 4 of them on an asus p4c800-E deluxe mobo. 2 of which are in a raid0 configuration. just shop around and see what you like. if you want to future proof yourself go sata because its the next wave and will be years before it is outdated.

3. mr. texas

mr. texas New Member

no there is no downside to not having raid either. for what you are doing its stupid actually.

4. lolopop

lolopop Guest