sata help

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by mcslaughter, Feb 27, 2005.

  1. mcslaughter

    mcslaughter Unstable

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    noob who built his first computer needs ot help.

    I have a asus a8v delux mb when i installed my maxator sata 300gb hdd it doesn't read the drive. in bios i set the onchip sata boot rom is their anything else i need to change to to get it working?:hsd:
     
  2. Sypha923

    Sypha923 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    4,222
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    El Paso TX
    Are you running the newest bios i had a similar problem before i put the new bios on the same mb
     
  3. mcslaughter

    mcslaughter Unstable

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    yes everything came in last night i was up till 6 am installing everything when i ran bios and tried to install windows it said it found no hdd
     
  4. Sypha923

    Sypha923 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    4,222
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    El Paso TX
    Pulled this from newegg.com reviews hope it helps

    "****TIP**** If doing a fresh install of XP on a SATA HD it won't see your hard drive, you have to explore on the driver CD for a program called MakeDisk I believe it was, it will make a Floppy disc to help the XP install see the SATA HD, hit F6 at the beginning of the XP install when prompted at the bottom of the screen."

    "Like many others , I experienced problems setting up WinXP on a new HDD; because Windows needs a floppy with a the drivers for a S-ATA Interface Harddrive. What you'll need is a zip from ASUS's website which contains the program called makedisk; and on a seperate computer with floppy support, go ahead and get that program ( Titled 378SATA ) from the ASUS website, and extract it. Put in a clean floppy, and run the program " Makedisk.exe " and it will extract the drivers for every Windows Version on the Disk.

    When you boot up on the comp/board you're installing, go ahead and put in your new Floppy in , and Windows Disk and then when prompted to search for drivers ( usually the very beginning of the setup ), press the correct key as told on screen. Windows will search the floppy for drivers and the SATA Drivers will appear on screen."
     
  5. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    I really should try installing from scratch since SATA came out, can't remember the last time I didn't use an image.
     
  6. FreeSpace

    FreeSpace Guest

    It's F3, if I'm not mistaken.
     
  7. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Not if you use an image though ;)
     
  8. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    you shouldn't be using an image if you've made signifigant changes to your hardware from making the image... Changing from PATA to SATA is signifigant.
     
  9. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    I have an image just after Windows reboots from copying the files from the CDROM to the hard drive.
     
  10. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    windows sets the MBR before you made the image, so that makes changing from PATA to SATA complicated.
     
  11. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    I'm not sure what you're getting at - works fine.
     
  12. bleak

    bleak Guest

    Actually, it's F7 (at least it was when I installed Windows XP Pro on my new SATA drives last week).
     
  13. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    It's F6 and it's right in the beginning of the Windows setup.

    I have the Asus P4P800 SE and I did not have to supply Windows with any extra drivers for it to recognize my SATA hard drive.
     
  14. bleak

    bleak Guest

    Same with the A8N-SLI board.
     

Share This Page