Sata HD Help..

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by saiaba, Jan 13, 2005.

  1. saiaba

    saiaba Guest

    So I just bought a new barebones PC, I thought I ordered a 160gb IDE hd but ended up getting a 160gb SATA 150 hd by mistake. (my mistake) I'm mostly familiar with IDE hds and installing OS's on them, but I know the benefit of sata is having 2 sata drives running together.


    Is it possible to install my OS (win xp pro) with just one Sata HD ? I don't think it is, but if so explain how...:wavey:
     
  2. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,499
    Likes Received:
    310
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    Windows doesn't really care how the drive is connected to the computer. The only thing is you might need a driver for the SATA controller. (F6 right after you boot off the CD to load it) But that's no different than if you had a SCSI drive or PCI IDE card Windows didn't recognize.
     
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    yes.

    most of the time you can install windows exactly like you would a PATA drive.

    Other times you have to create a driver disk.

    Try installing windows, and see if it finds your hdd. If it does, you're good to go. If it doesn't, then download the driver and create the floppy. Then when booting to XP setup, read the bottom and watch for it to say hit F6. Do it, and follow the directions.
     
  4. saiaba

    saiaba Guest

    windows isn't finding a hard drive when i'm trying to install it. and the hdd doesnt show up as a device in the bios either, yet during system post it lists the hdd...

    thanks for the advice btw Ill try it out.
     
  5. saiaba

    saiaba Guest

    i have an asus a8v mobo i heard they are tricky to get going with.. anyways i hit f6 and no go so far.
     
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    did you insert the driver disk?

    and this is another reason the K8N > A8V
     
  7. saiaba

    saiaba Guest

    Yeah I inserted the driver disk, and no go still, going to give it a rest till tomorrow. Now I'm thinking I should have waited for the nvidia board..

    If this doesnt work I'll just use a regular IDe hdd.
     
  8. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    make sure it's set to IDE and not RAID mode.
     
  9. saiaba

    saiaba Guest

    For the SATA? or if I switch to IDE ? I wonder why It wont take the drivers :(
     
  10. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    for sata.

    You say IDE but I think you mean PATA. Because IDE is both SATA and PATA. SATA = Serial ATA, and PATA = Parallel ATA.
     
  11. Yep

    Yep Knick knack paddy whack, give the old dog a bone

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2001
    Messages:
    4,603
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Jersey
    Along these lines is it possible to load a drive image from an ATA hard drive onto a SATA drive and have it be bootable? I want to switch to SATA but not if it means reinstalling everything.
     
  12. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    yes, the latest version of Norton Ghost will allow this.
     
  13. Mikey D

    Mikey D New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Royal Oak, MI
    Ghost you can use, but obviously not free.

    Depending on the manufacturer of the hard drive they usually have software that will copy the data from old to new. Check the corresponding website for a free download of it. They work just as well as Ghost and are free, at least this way you can avoid spending extra money on Ghost.
     
  14. Yep

    Yep Knick knack paddy whack, give the old dog a bone

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2001
    Messages:
    4,603
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Jersey
    Ok cool. At least I know there is a way.

    Thanks
     
  15. saiaba

    saiaba Guest

    Thanks for all the help and tips, I ended up just buying a ultra ata 133 hd and got the pc up and running now.

    84f a decent temp for an a64 ?
     

Share This Page