SATA Drivers Needed for Fresh Install of XP

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by neonwheels, Apr 17, 2007.

  1. neonwheels

    neonwheels New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    107,424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    Seriously, why the fuck do they do this?

    90% of new computers don't come with fucking floppy drives, is it really that much of a bitch to put the SATA/RAID drivers on the board? :madfawk:
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    that is exactly what EFI does.
     
  3. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    i've never had any trouble with sata drivers on winxp pro...although i was using an older seagate sata150 drive, but i believe it runs @ 300 also


    load the drivers on a usb key? :dunno:
     
  4. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    fuckers giving me looks when they see the 3.5" & cable in my kit.
     
  5. RiSk

    RiSk New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    6,564
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Irving, Texas
    go into your BIOS and turn off AHCI and you shold be fine
     
  6. neonwheels

    neonwheels New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    107,424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    I don't believe I saw a setting, but I will check.
     
  7. neonwheels

    neonwheels New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    107,424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    No shit... fucking rediculous
     
  8. neonwheels

    neonwheels New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    107,424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    Dell Dimension 8400's do it, I also have a ASUS mobo at home that does it... :squint:
     
  9. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    While we're on the topic of floppy drives, why the hell can't they make it easy to make bootable CDs with hard-drive emulation instead of floppy-drive emulation? It's not like CD recorders are a rarity these days, unlike floppy drives.
     
  10. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    you and I have already gone through this before. I even posted screenshots proving it works... Nero has this support.
     
  11. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    If the BIOS isn't all hashed(OEM BIOS), change the SATA mode to IDE instead of RAID or AHCI
     
  12. neonwheels

    neonwheels New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    107,424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    It's OEM and there wasn't that function, I did have to load the AHCI drivers, the RAID drivers didn't work. :ugh:
     
  13. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    What chipset does it have?
     
  14. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    We did? Sorry, I forgot.
     
  15. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Isn't there a way of installing windows on one drive and adding the raid after the fact?
     
  16. AO

    AO New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,750
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    wyd
    Actually, yes. You have Intel, AMD, nVidia, VIA, SIS, Promise controller chips. Just because a mobo manufacturer has drivers doesn't mean that they have the OEMsetup.txt file, which is what XP is looking for.

    As far as floppies go, they are great for ASR (Automatic System Recovery) and making dual boot to Linux (GRUB or LILO).
     
  17. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    For a mirror I don't see an issue. For anything else there are tools that'll let you. I've got one, somewhere. NP if it's a fresh install or whatnot.

    I don't have the balls to risk someone's data, though. The two times I've done a job like this I've backed up, ran the live tool (fast process), then checked the data. The second job's data was FUBAR (prob PBKAC), requiring me to DRP with a slow-ass tape drive.

    When that program name comes to me I'll edit it in.
     
  18. morgue

    morgue New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    8,278
    Likes Received:
    0
    There's something you turn off in the BIOS and that's it, maybe it's called SATA support or something like that... Or install Vista :)

    It's like that 'cause SATA drives came after XP came out :)
     
  19. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hey, I think I found an answer: http://www.nliteos.com/index.html

    Well, kinda.

    What I really want to do is somehow integrate SATA drivers into my bootable from the ghost tool.
     

Share This Page