SATA and IDE harddrives in same computer?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by fanatic, Jul 28, 2004.

  1. fanatic

    fanatic BC2 needs more barrell roll

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2001
    Messages:
    6,834
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Louisiana
    The next computer I build I'm going to want an SATA harddrive in it, but I also have a lot of data on my old computer that I'd like to transfer (without networking). Is it possible to run both IDE and SATA harddrives in the same computer?
     
  2. ins3cure

    ins3cure Old School Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    my new Soyo KT880 supports both. As long as your board has both IDE and SATA (or even if you use a PCI SATA card) you shouldn't have any trouble. Make sure you BIOS is up to date.
     
  3. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    shouldn't be a problem.

    IDE has to work alongside SATA because most optical drives are still only IDE.
     
  4. $entenza

    $entenza Saudade, Beco.

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Messages:
    7,295
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bangkok, Thailand - Lausanne, Switzerland
    i have two SATA drives on Raid and a third drive for my music files... runs fine.. MSI board.
     
  5. Gaylord Focker

    Gaylord Focker 8=oOOo=D ~ ~ ~

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2001
    Messages:
    6,058
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    -> . <-
    i have the exact same setup except on an asus board. works like a champ
     

Share This Page