SATA 3.0 work with SATA 1.5?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Drifter87, Dec 18, 2007.

  1. Drifter87

    Drifter87 Yippi-kay-ay, Motherfucker

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    7,173
    Likes Received:
    0
    If I plug a SATA 3.0 Hard Drive into a SATA 1.5 mother board will everything work just fine?
     
  2. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,446
    Likes Received:
    12
    depends on the controller chipset. some drives and controllers will autoneg down to 1.5. for some controllers who don't autoneg properly you have to jumper the drive to behave as 1.5.
     
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
  4. dissonance

    dissonance reset OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    5,652
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    KS
    Every Seagate drive I've gotten came with the jumper in place to run as a 1.5GBps
     
  5. Drifter87

    Drifter87 Yippi-kay-ay, Motherfucker

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    7,173
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page