Samba doesn't like my router :(

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Biomechanoid, Jun 24, 2004.

  1. Biomechanoid

    Biomechanoid New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    7,265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In the Woodline.
    I tried networking myh linux server to my XP PC, and as long as they both are on my hub I have no problems, but if I try to use my router (both on the router, or the hub networked to the router), Samba can't see my PC and visa-versa. any suggestions?
     
  2. Keyzs

    Keyzs OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, MI
    I think you need to explain a little more. What are you doing with the router (make and model)? Is it a flat or multi-net network?
     
  3. Biomechanoid

    Biomechanoid New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    7,265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In the Woodline.
    here's the setup I want to run:

    Cable modem to router, and the PC and Linux box on the router.

    my router is a Linksys-Network Everywhere NR041
    my hub is a Linksys-Network Everywhere NH1005


    Here's the setups I've tried:

    if I plug both my PC and Box into the router (with or without the uplink from the modem) niether computer sees/connects to each other.

    If I plug both my PC and Box into the hub, I have no problems as both computers recognize/connect to each other and everything is fine.

    If I uplink my modem to the router, and the router to the hub, and put both the PC and Box on the hub, neither computer can see/connect to each other ( :wtf: )

    If I have the same setup as above but have the PC on the hub and the Box on the router, same problem

    Same setup but Box on the hub and the PC on the router and same problem.

    I'm thinking of just switching back to XP for the box and deal with needing to restart it every 7-10 days
     
  4. RaginBajin

    RaginBajin Have you punched a donkey today?

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    8,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NoVA
    What's your firewall looking like. I wonder if your router is dropping the packets that are going to the Linux box thinking it was bad traffic.
     
  5. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    wonder if your router is not allowing broadcast packets. How are you accessing your samba share? \\linuxbox\myshare\ ? Try using the ip address. \\192.168.0.5\myshare\ (replacing that ip address to what your linux box is set to). If that works, then it may just be that your router is dropping packets that are crutial for the SMB protocol to allow your linux box to broadcast itself.
     
  6. Biomechanoid

    Biomechanoid New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    7,265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In the Woodline.

    thanks that worked :bigthumb:. I might switch back to XP due to other reasons though
     

Share This Page