Salvaged bikes

Discussion in 'OT Driven' started by mitsuguy16, Jan 9, 2004.

1. mitsuguy16

mitsuguy16 New Member

I found this nice looking 2002 R6 for $4900 the only bad thing is, is that it is a salvaged title. I am was wondering what i should look out for when i buy a salvaged bike. It is buy a company called Forward Motion Motorcycles, has anyone in southern california dealed with them before? thanks

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Wolf

Wolf No one plans to take the path that brings you lowe

If it's your first bike, forget it.

3. Triad

Triad I deficate locomotives.

Its a pretty bike but ^ What he said.

From reading his other posts on this board he knows his shit about bikes.

4. mitsuguy16

mitsuguy16 New Member

well, i've been riding for 6 months and done a little track time on a 400. Now the 250 seems too weak. So i think i will be able to take care of a 600

5. GizmoR

GizmoR New Member

I would never buy a salvaged bike that has being repaired. You dont know what were the damage, maybe the frame is twisted and their is NO way to know about it exept to ride it for some time (ok ok GDM computrack.... shut up).
    But buying a damaged bike is repair it is ok

6. Hobie1

Hobie1 No longer self-employed & now hating life

that's WAY too much money for that bike with a salvage title. If you know someone that knows bikes you can have them check out salvage title bikes for you.

I have been doing this bike thing for awhile and built bikes for myself as well as others out of wrecked/theft recovery bikes. In fact, every bike I have ever owned has been built like this. Bikes get totalled almost for ANY claim. The damage doesn't have to be bad at all. The cheapest thing to do is to buy a wrecked bike with a clean title and fi it yourself. I could probably duplicate that bike for $2500 and do it with a clean title ;) It just takes a little time.

7. Hobie1

Hobie1 No longer self-employed & now hating life