safety wire

Discussion in 'OT Driven' started by s a x m a n, Apr 5, 2005.

  1. s a x m a n

    s a x m a n New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Spent saturday drilling the bolts on my bike to get ready for a safety wire ... here are two pics, need to redo the wire since its not tight enough yet (kind of tricky)

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  2. mnewell

    mnewell Lucy.

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2001
    Messages:
    9,309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle
    That shits a bitch.

    Are you racing this year?
     
  3. ragnarok

    ragnarok nuclear launch detected

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,349
    Likes Received:
    0
    damn you even have to safety wire the suspension setting nuts? i thought it was only for the big things like axle nuts and oil pan plug, etc
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2005
  4. Esp69st

    Esp69st Who's talking about OIL... bitch you cooking

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BOSTON
    dude it's that really necessary...
     
  5. Esp69st

    Esp69st Who's talking about OIL... bitch you cooking

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BOSTON
    why not just tighten everything at the 600 mile service..
     
  6. s a x m a n

    s a x m a n New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    880
    Likes Received:
    0
    required for tracks, just has to be done ...

    wera standards are tough, probably the worst, i'm going to go with my local track for now, then just add when I have too
     
  7. Esp69st

    Esp69st Who's talking about OIL... bitch you cooking

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BOSTON
    so you telling me that I need to do that to my bike since I'm gonna do a few track days this year..?
     
  8. mnewell

    mnewell Lucy.

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2001
    Messages:
    9,309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle
    No. The majority of track day organizations do not require you to safetywire your bikes and the ones that do, only require it in the fastest groups (also have to run water wetter, etc).

    But if you are a racer, you will have to safety wire everything. This is required by every race organization that I have ever heard of.
     
  9. Esp69st

    Esp69st Who's talking about OIL... bitch you cooking

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BOSTON
  10. s a x m a n

    s a x m a n New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    880
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes what he said ... i just want to get it done so I can do any track day or ride at any track without worring about passing tech
     
  11. Wolf

    Wolf No one plans to take the path that brings you lowe

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Messages:
    105,186
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Not for trackdays, but if you're doing anything competitive you have to. That's why safety wire on a used bike is a good indication that it's been raced and ridden hard.
     
  12. s a x m a n

    s a x m a n New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    880
    Likes Received:
    0
    give me a bike that is riden hard at the track over a bike that has been stunted anyday (=
     

Share This Page