safe operating temperatures -- p4 3.4e / 6800gt

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Tk, Aug 16, 2005.

  1. Tk

    Tk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    23,073
    Likes Received:
    279
    Location:
    nw iowa
    now that ive got this system up and running i need to know when it needs to cool the fuck down.... i was playing UT2004 last night @ high res with all the settings turned up (holy shit!) and she was beautiful, but the fan controller on my case said the temps inside the case were ~50c.

    if thats inside the case i cant imagine how hot the CPU or GPU is getting. so is there a tool that displays this info for you other than having to use the BIOS monitor?
     
  2. Lateralus

    Lateralus New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    5,953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Midwest
    With those Prescott chips that's what you can expect. I have a 3.0e and it idles around 38-41 C and under heavy load playing Counter Strike or Half Life 2 it runs about 52 C. You didn't use the stock heatsink/fan that came with it did you? I didn't even bother I just went ahead and bought a nice 90mm Zalman copper heatsink/fan.
     
  3. Mikey D

    Mikey D New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Royal Oak, MI
    On full load my P4 3.4 will get to around 60C with a Zalman Cu-7700. Just the regular operating temps for this processer unfortunately.
     
  4. Scn64

    Scn64 Guest

    My P4 idles around 46c - 48c. On full load it can get up to a little over 60c. I've even seen it get to 70c but that stopped when I cleared all the dust that was mounting up on the heatsink. So, your temps are probably ok.
     
  5. JaJae

    JaJae New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Lavalys Everest Home is a good utility.

    Pick it up to monitor your temps, voltages, fan speeds as well as just about everything else in your comp.

    Motherboard Monitor works as well, but doesn't have as many features and is a bitch to set up. The interface sucks too.
     

Share This Page