S-Video quality, man....help me out.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by joed1228, May 22, 2007.

  1. joed1228

    joed1228 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    I have a HP laptop connected via an S-Video cable to my tv.

    ATI Radeon 200M video card in the laptop
    Quality S-Video cable
    LG 42 inch LCD (not rear projection or anything, just like a huge PC lcd).

    It looks good and all but not as sharp as the laptop monitor alone. I tweaked my video card settings as well as my TV settings and dont get me wrong, it helped but it's still not as sharp as the laptop LCD.

    Am I just going to have to deal with the quality since I am going from a 14.2 screen to a 42 or is there extra software out there to make the image look better?
     
  2. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    1. Yes, you'll notice degradation going from a 14" screen to a 42" screen.
    2. S-video doesn't transmit a hi-definition signal, so the resolution is going to be roughly 640x480, also known as "VGA" (or "shitty", if you prefer).

    If you have the option to use a DVI<=>HDMI cable instead, you'll be much happier with the results.
     
  3. Grouch

    Grouch Guest

    your TV doesn't have RGB?
     
  4. joed1228

    joed1228 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MA
  5. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    You MIGHT be able to find a VGA<=>HDMI cable, but it will take some serious searching. If you can find one, it will still be better than S-Video.

    EDIT: Uh...yeah, what Jack said? You could do VGA<=>RGB (aka Component Video) too. I'm pretty sure Component Video can support an HD signal.
     
  6. Grouch

    Grouch Guest

    acording to the manual your TV has an RGB connection. should be right next to the coax. just use that.
     
  7. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    You are correct...component video can support HD signals...that's how the Xbox 360 is played in HD (with the exception of the new "Elite" unit which can use HDMI).
     
  8. StevesVR4

    StevesVR4 Get Arrested

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    7,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    You have to be careful when you say RGB is the same as component video. There are two formats for component video and they are not the same. One is RGB (or possibly RGBHV if the TV supports the two sync signals) and the other is YPbPr. The two send different signals and don't work with each other. The RGB signal sends the information for red/green/blue on the three cables whereas the YPbPr signal basically sends a black and white image on one cable and the other two cables are used to send the color information. If you look at the provided manual for the TV in question, the two component connections are YPbPr and there is a seperate D-sub 15 connection for RGB.
     
  9. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    SVideo is crappy quality, and it's interlaced. HORRIBLE for computer usage.
     
  10. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well hell...if he's got a D-Sub-15 port on his TV, then all he needs is a long-ass VGA cable to connect his computer to it.
     
  11. joed1228

    joed1228 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    * update *

    i went to the store and purchased a vga to vga cable. my tv has a crap load of ports and i overlooked the port. i plugged in the new cable and oh man, does it look better (night and day difference).

    next little project to get the phono cable to plug into my laptops audio "output" and into the tv. ontop of the vga port on the tv i have a phono port (looks the same size as the ipod headphones or whatever) and it is labeled "audio in".

    it's mint. i got some nice furniture, i am sitting on the couch using an ultra slim wifi keyboard and mouse. mint!

    thanks for all of the help guys. if any of you know about the audio cable i need, let me know please.
     
  12. joed1228

    joed1228 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    i did just that, i have to buy at least a 6 footer, wish they had a shorter.
     
  13. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Check out www.firefold.com. Awesome selection and prices.
     
  14. joed1228

    joed1228 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    that stinks, i could of spent 11.00 instead of 20.00 and had an intergrated audio cable as well. well i would of had for shipping but still, it would of been nice and neat.

    cool link though.
     
  15. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can never have a cable that's too long. You can definitely have one that's too short, though.

    As far as the integrated audio cable goes, I'd be concerned about interference in the sound from the video signal.
     
  16. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    not with digital.
     
  17. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Was he going to use digital sound? I must have skimmed past that bit.
     
  18. Taldir

    Taldir Ask me about GasWatch!

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    5,586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Yep. Here at FireFold we had everything you required.. in one cable!

    Keep us in mind for your future cable needs. :bigthumb:
     

Share This Page