S-video out to Projection Screen

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Waramp4X4, Jan 17, 2005.

  1. Waramp4X4

    Waramp4X4 k car technician

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2001
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Da Plaaaiinnss
    I am well aware that when you use any type of TV for your monitor its going to look like crap no matter what. Why is this?
    Is it because the resolutions are different and it has trouble resizing the video to fit on a TV screen?
    Is there a resolution i can run my games at that will look better on the TV? What about refresh rates?
    Would C-out be any clearer than S-video out?
    Does it work well with Projectors?
    Im using it in Clone mode. Will it help if i have dual desktops and run a game on the TV from there?
    thanks for any help.
     
  2. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    There are a lot of reasons as to why, but a lot of it has to do with scan and refresh rates and resolution.

    Easiest thing to do if your TV doesn't have a DVI input is to grab a scan convertor to invert the scan and display a proper image. Still won't be 100% sharp and clear, but it will be much better.
     
  3. kosstamogen

    kosstamogen New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    well a plasma tv and lcd tvs won't look like crap. It does work with projects too since most of them take vga or dvi input. S-video on your standard tube tv's will look like crap because the resolution of the tv is too low.

    scan convertor is definitely something I been wanting to try for a while now, but the only one's i've seen are $100+. ATI has this dvi to component, but some people say it won't work like you think it should...??
     
  4. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Agreed.. it won't work like you think it would. Get the convertor or not, but don't get the dvi to component..
     
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    remember, resolution and it being an *interlaced* picture will make it look like crap. DVI is the best way, and those are usually decent.
     
  6. Waramp4X4

    Waramp4X4 k car technician

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2001
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Da Plaaaiinnss
    So what is DVI?

    The projector i have is an Epson.
    For inputs it has
    -The "Video" port which has the cable from the receiver on the TV running into it.
    -S-video
    -Component RGB input
    -Control (RS-232c) which is the same as a video card plug but Male.
    "Input B" which is the same as the female video port on a video card.

    I have an old GeForce 2 with the "C out, is that a component out?
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    component would be the closest... but it's still not great.

    rs-232 is *NOT* the video card connection... that'd be a DB-15... RS-232 is the serial protocol, and uses a DB-9 connector.

    Your GF2 probably has composite, which is worse than svideo which is worse than component.
     
  8. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    What about a Rear Projection TV with a DVI?
     
  9. Waramp4X4

    Waramp4X4 k car technician

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2001
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Da Plaaaiinnss
    Okay well is there a port on this projector that i can run a double male ended cord to from my video card instead of running my monitor?

    Projector Info
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2005
  10. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    if that is your projector, then you can use port 1, which is a DB-15 (VGA).
     

Share This Page