Running Network cable outside?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Fee, Feb 1, 2005.

  1. Fee

    Fee Boba Fett Likes the Nips

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    4,329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TN
    any ran Cat5 cables outside? I want to go 50ft to a shed in my backyard form my house. I have a shed with a retractable roof, what i use has an "Obversatory" where I have telescope with CCD for a viewfinder that sends pictures and can be control by a computer. I don't want to go wireless cause well I already got an old PII 333 hooked up the the scope and I need to run cable form it to my router (All I would have to spend if $3 for 50ft cat5 cable) Because I would like upload the pictures to my website and control it form my house computer when its real cold outside. I search on google and it says it ok ( http://compnetworking.about.com/cs/cablingcat5/f/cat5outdoors.htm )

    you have to wrap them, the wrap makes them "waterproof" like they have at lowes. I was just wondering if anyone here had try this and options
    ?
     
  2. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Get some outdoor cat-5 cable, and just bury it about 6 inches underground. It shouldn't be a problem. If you use the indoor stuff, then you could get cheap aluminum conduit and bury it in that. There is such a thing as buried Cat-5, and it comes in a conduit with jelly inside... but in your case, I'd say to just go ahead and bury outdoor cable. It will work. Not a big deal.
     
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    be careful with the difference in potentials. Usually it's not good to run copper cable to different buildings due to grounding.
     
  4. col_panic

    col_panic calm like a bomb Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    188,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winter haven, fl
    i would just run it through pvc conduit like a damned sprinkler line
     
  5. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,515
    Likes Received:
    316
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    Tennessee huh? One good lightning strike nearby and you can kiss your equipment goodbye. Copper underground :nono: unless you spend even more to protect it.
     
  6. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    The reality is that this is a pretty unlikely thing to happen...
     
  7. C_Blyth

    C_Blyth Guest

    i think that the special outdoor cable is probably the best way to go!!
     
  8. Yep

    Yep Knick knack paddy whack, give the old dog a bone

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2001
    Messages:
    4,603
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Jersey
    If your connections are inside and protected the outdoor cable is a waste of money to go 50ft in a residential setting.
     
  9. vwgeekdotcom

    vwgeekdotcom Silver Surfer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
  10. deezil

    deezil Guest

    fucking A. Run it underground in a conduit.
     
  11. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    Nobody has mentioned wireless yet? :dunno:

    what is the distance between the 2 buildings?
     
  12. Chase

    Chase Fuck you, fuck you, fuck you, you're cool, fuck yo

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6,006
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    at home
    You are an idiot.
    He is looking to spend like $10 doing this.


    Just get this outdoor Cat 5, or if you know any technicians ask them is they have any old BNC hubs around and buy some Coax?
     
  13. s2k

    s2k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    46,932
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    corn field, iowa

    he said he didnt want to run wireless
     
  14. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    :uh: that's what i get for replying late at night.
     
  15. vwgeekdotcom

    vwgeekdotcom Silver Surfer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    I must be an idiot because I stated an idea.
    Show me ANYWHERE he stated that he "is looking to spend ike $10".
    Direct Burial Cat5 is considerably more expensive than regular cat5, and much more suseptible to the elements than a 20m fiber cable. It was just a suggestion.
     
  16. marauder

    marauder New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    2,144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thats all the needs to be done works fine, its mainly to protect the cat5 from UV.
     
  17. mace

    mace i don't read

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    12,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Don't you need shielded twisted pair, or is that for something else?
     
  18. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,515
    Likes Received:
    316
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    That's for electrically noisy environments.
     

Share This Page