Running a VM inside of a VM

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by DPoon, Apr 3, 2008.

  1. DPoon

    DPoon .

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    7,992
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale
    How do you release the cursor but still stay in my original VM?

    further details, I have fusion which I am running. But I had to start another VM within Fusion for a project that I am working on. But how do I release the VM running inside Fusion without releasing Fusion.
     
  2. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    :rofl: no clue.
     
  3. Deepsix

    Deepsix OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    19,537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    running another vm within that vm and it will be fixed
     
  4. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    By pressing the key combination that the VM viewer tells you to press.
     
  5. SuperCzar

    SuperCzar Mac Crew, DSLR Crew

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SLO, CA, USA
    change the release key command in one of the two virtualizing programs.

    I don't remember where it is, but you can change it somewhere, if i'm not mistaken.
     
  6. MUDFISH

    MUDFISH New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    12,898
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Syracuse
    but that probably exits both... I think he wants to be able to toggle between both VM and OSX...

    I know ctrl+apple+s gets out of full screen...

    :dunno:
     
  7. DouggieJ

    DouggieJ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    8,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York, NY USA
    Why would you want to run a VM inside another VM?
     
  8. DPoon

    DPoon .

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    7,992
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale
    Meh, I had to wait till i was finished with everything in vm server console and install vmware tools before I was able to exit it without exiting Fusion.

    Thanks for the help though!
     
  9. mad_vtak

    mad_vtak Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    30,760
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Memfrica
  10. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Presumably he's testing a VM for use on a Windows/*nix system, and all he has handy is an Apple.
     

Share This Page