Running a PC app on a NON-INTEL MAC!

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by BlaqueMan, Feb 16, 2007.

  1. BlaqueMan

    BlaqueMan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    0
    can it be done without completely installing xp?

    i want to run knight online, a really fun MMO, on my 2005 g4 powerbook 15"
    however, ive been sceptical to download xp onto my computer, i have alot of stuff and i dont theres room! andy solutions or suggestions would be appreciated!
    thanks,
    blaque
     
  2. Lat

    Lat New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    141,254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Soldier Field
    Virtual PC, but good luck with that.
     
  3. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    crossover is one way, or darwine
     
  4. BlaqueMan

    BlaqueMan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    0
    elaborate please
     
  5. Euclid

    Euclid New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    8,139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Bad news: If you could somehow get it to run under emulation (and that's a big "if"), I don't think you will be able to get acceptable performance for a 3-D MMO game. I don't want to discourage you from trying it, but you may spend many hours setting up one of the above suggestions only to find that the game doesn't run fast enough to be playable.
     
  6. BlaqueMan

    BlaqueMan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for the input guys! i'm kind of addicted to this game and my PC just broke (i only use it for games).
    I appreciate it,
    blaque
     
  7. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Crossover only works on Intel-based Macs
    As Darwine, if I'm reading this correctly http://darwine.opendarwin.org/faq.php#5
    It also only run correctly with Intel-based Macs, but they are working on getting one to work with PPC Macs
    However once they do get it to work for PPC, don't expect to be able to play most 3D games. You can expect the same results from VPC at not playing games as well.
     
  8. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    my bad, i completely missread the title, i thought he meant intel mac. :doh:
     
  9. BlaqueMan

    BlaqueMan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    0
    ahh well, i guess ill have to give up the game :sadwavey:

    oh well, thanks for the ideas guys and please tell me if they make a good program for us non-intel's out there to run games on!

    thanks,
    blaque
     

Share This Page