Routing twice with 2 routers?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by o2, May 5, 2007.

  1. o2

    o2 Witty Title Here OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    16,099
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Toronto
    Is it a bad idea? I have 1 simple d-link router sitting in my wall routing the signal into different ethernet jacks around my house. If I connect 1 of those jacks to a 2nd D-Link router (Wireless N Extreme), would it be a bad idea?I mean I can simply put the N router into the wall in the place of the 1 provided by my ISP, but it just looks so nice, I wanna keep it on my desk..... :mamoru:
     
  2. kamikaze

    kamikaze Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    33,629
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Barrie Ontario
    if you turn the DHCP off on the N router, and plug one of its switch ports into the other router then you can use it just as a plain switch or wireless access point...you just don't want it handing out ip addresses.
     
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Well, it'd be fucking stupid and pointless. It would make port forwarding difficult, filesharing near impossible, and it would really screw up your subnet/broadcast-domain.

    But yes, it does work.



    Realistically, you should disable the DHCP server on the 2nd router and use it simply as an access point.
     
  4. autobahn

    autobahn New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    you could dual-dmz and it would work fine.

    pointless, but fine. you'd have to have each router on a different subnet, however.
     
  5. o2

    o2 Witty Title Here OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    16,099
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Toronto
    I just stuffed a switch into the wall, and then connected a router to the cable that comes from one of the wall jacks. Simple, and it works.
     

Share This Page